Mon, Mar
22 New Articles

Top Mayo LGFA posts to be filled


Oisín McGovern

MAYO LGFA officers have received seven nominations for the positions of chairperson, vice-chairperson, Central Council delegates and player delegate.
Former Mayo LGFA chairman and current Mayo minor manager Des Phillips (Kilmovee Shamrocks) and former Burrishoole chairman Kenneth Kelly have both been nominated for the position of chairman.
The position of vice-chairperson will be contested by former Mayo selector, Michael McHale from Carnacon, and Agnes McDonagh from Breaffy.
Ruaidhri O’Hara (Knockmore) and Debbie Lavelle Doyle (McHale Rovers) have been nominated for the positions of LGFA Central Council delegates while Moy Davitts’ Emma Galligan has been nominated as player delegate.
No nominations had been received at the time of writing for the position of Public Relations Officer.
Brian Galvin, Mayo LGFA Secretary, told The Mayo News that an election of officers will take place at a meeting of the Mayo LGFA County Board this evening (Tuesday).
Seven positions on the county board had been left vacant following December’s Annual General Meeting of Mayo LGFA.


Latest Sport

Westport win Connacht Junior Cup

RUGBY There was a dramatic finish to Sunday’s Connacht Junior Cup Final as the Bulls stunned Creggs.

Read more ...

Mayo draw up battle-plans

FOOTBALL Qualification for the National League Final means that Mayo will have three games to plan for over the next three weeks.

Read more ...

3 players who caught our eye

FOOTBALL Mike Finnerty picks out three players who made an impression for Mayo in Donegal last Sunday.

Read more ...

Mayo’s upward curve continues

FOOTBALL Billy Joe Padden assesses the merits of Mayo’s performance last weekend and talks about the importance of leadership in this group.

Read more ...

A mother’s day to remember

FOOTBALL Our resident Mayo fan Anne Marie Flynn was in Ballybofey last Sunday and enjoyed the trip — as well as the result.

Read more ...