Wed, Nov
10 New Articles

Race on for four Mayo GAA posts


Mike Finnerty

THE contest to be the next Secretary of the Mayo GAA Board is set to dominate the build-up to the County Convention next month.
Nominations closed last Saturday evening with Ronan Kirrane (the current Assistant Secretary) and Mary Prenty (the current Planning and Training Officer) both allowing their names to go forward for election to the prestigious post.
Kirrane, who is a member of Davitts GAA club, is also the current Secretary of Mayo GAA Bord na nÓg.
Under the chairmanship of former Mayo GAA chief, Liam Moffatt, Kirrane developed the Mayo GAA Operations Manual, a comprehensive document which set out policies and procedures for Mayo GAA across the entire organisation.
“Earlier this year the manual was used as the roadmap for the appointment of the new Mayo senior management team in a clear and transparent process,” Davitts GAA club said in a statement confirming Kirrane’s nomination last week.
“As a member of the Managerial Appointment Committee, Ronan was integral in the implementation of that process and the appointment of the new inter-county management team itself.”
Mary Prenty from Ballyhaunis is a former Secretary of the East Mayo GAA Board.
She has a wealth of GAA administration experience, having served as secretary of both Ballyhaunis GAA Bord na nÓg and the club itself.
In more recent times, Mary spent two years as Mayo GAA Development Officer before becoming the County Board Planning and Training officer.
Meanwhile, there are three other mouth-watering election contests in store.
Brian O’Malley (The Neale) and Celia Rattigan (Breaffy) have both been nominated for the position of Mayo GAA Assistant Secretary.
O’Malley is the current Secretary of the South Mayo GAA Board while Rattigan is the current Mayo GAA Children’s Officer.
Elsewhere, former Mayo GAA chairman, Liam Moffatt, is one of three candidates in the running for the two Mayo delegate seats at Connacht GAA level.
Paul Cunnane (Davitts), who currently holds one of the provincial council delegate positions, will also be in the running along with former referee, Willie Feeley, who is a member of Claremorris GAA club.
Johnny Hopkins (The Neale) is stepping down as one of Mayo GAA’s delegates to Connacht Council having served his five-year term.
There will also be plenty of attention on the contest to become Mayo GAA’s delegate to Central Council at Croke Park.
Paddy McNicholas (Kiltimagh), who has held the position for the last three years, is being challenged by outgoing County Board Secretary, Dermot Butler (Crossmolina).
Butler is vacating the Secretary position having served his five-year term.
The Mayo News understands that all other officers will return to their positions unopposed.
This year’s Mayo GAA Convention will take place on Sunday, December 11 in the McWilliam Park Hotel in Claremorris.


Latest Sport

Geelong’s gain is Mayo’s loss

FOOTBALL Edwin McGreal says it’s hard to argue with Oisin Mullin’s decision to move to Australia to play professional sport

Read more ...

‘Survival of clubs’ no minor issue

FOOTBALL A leading Mayo club manager and a Mayo GAA official are concerned about the GAA’s underage grade proposals

Read more ...

‘Serious concerns’ about MacHale Park pitch

GAA The condition of the playing surface at Hastings Insurance MacHale Park was described as ‘a very serious concern’ at last week’s meeting of the County Board

Read more ...

Lacken and Kilfian to come together

GAA Two North Mayo clubs, who have both struggled to field teams in recent times, have agreed to seek permission to play together at adult level next year

Read more ...

Ballinrobe’s Duffy ready to go again

FOOTBALL Diarmuid Duffy has had a busy season with the Mayo Under-17s and his club, but he’s all set for colleges football with Ballinrobe Community School

Read more ...