Sat, Dec
19 New Articles

Charlestown ladies are queens of Connacht



Connacht Ladies Intermediate Club Championship

Charlestown 1-10
Kiltubrid 0-12

Oisín McGovern

THE greatest day in the 20-year history of Charlestown LGFA club arrived in the form of the club’s first ever Connacht Intermediate club championhip title on Saturday afternoon.
To win it the Mayo champions had to endure a formidable Kiltubrid offensive that persisted for nearly the entire second half at St Croan’s GAA club in Roscommon.
The Leitrim women had the wind and the possession, and eventually found the leveller when the outstanding Michelle Guckian kicked her tenth point of the afternoon with two minutes to go.
But with all their might, Charlestown worked the ball up to the now legendary Deirdre Doherty, who won and converted the winning free.  
The final whistle sparked great scenes of celebration.
Sarsfields had put the hammer firmly down in the fifth minute when Ella Brennan charged up the field before floating a lovely kick-pass into the aforementioned Deirdre Doherty, who had the net rattling withing a split-second.
The opening quarter couldn’t have gone better for Charlestown, who hit 1-5 before Kiltubrid managed their first score from play in the 18th minute.
Fergal O’Gara’s side worked relentlessly all over the field, dominating possession for most of the half.
A string of crucial scores from Deirdre Doherty (1-5, 2fs), Nora McGovern (0-2) and the excellent Cailín Durkan (0-1) were enough to see the Mayo champions into the second half ahead by 1-8 to 0-5.  
But inspired by Leitrim star, Michelle Guckian, Kiltubrid were rampant with the wind in the second half, outscoring Charlestown by 0-7 to 0-2.
In the end, it was not the team that inflicted the most, but the team that endured the most that won out in the end.
The wait was well worth it for Charlestown.

Read the full match report plus reaction in this Tuesday’s edition of The Mayo News.

J Gawalkiewicz; C Murphy, L O’Donnell, H Johnson; E Brennan, N Meehan, E O’Donnell; K Gavin, C Durkan (0-1); S Mahon, C Doherty, N McGovern (0-2); K O’Donohue, D Doherty (1-7, 3fs), J O’Donnell.
Sub used: M Casey for L O’Donnell (59 mins).


M Foley; L Redican, C Doherty, C Kelly; S Tighe, L Tivan, K O’Brien; A McWeeney, N Tighe; E Keaney, M Guckian (0-10, 6fs), A Redican; C McWeeney, E Guckian (0-2), R McKeon.
Subs used: O McWeeney for O’Brien (49 mins); A McWeeney for McKeon (53 mins); C McGrail for C McWeeney (57 mins).

Referee: J Devlin (Galway)

Latest Sport

Mayo GAA accounts show €1.1m surplus

GAA The annual Mayo GAA financial report to next Sunday’s County Convention has been described as ‘extremely satisfactory’ and shows a surplus of €1.1m

Read more ...

Seven top Mayo LGFA posts unfilled

FOOTBALL Last weekend’s Annual General Meeting of Mayo LGFA ended without a number of posts — including chairperson — failing to be filled

Read more ...

The big interview: Ronan Kirrane

GAA The outgoing Mayo GAA Assistant Secretary from Davitts GAA club has been outlining why he feels he should be the next Mayo GAA Secretary

Read more ...

The big interview: Mary Prenty

GAA The current Mayo GAA Planning and Training Officer from Ballyhaunis GAA club has been outlining why she feels she should be the next Mayo GAA Secretary

Read more ...

Mayo LGFA squads to increase to 40 players

FOOTBALL A motion to increase Mayo LGFA underage squads by ten players passed by just one percent at last weekend’s Annual General Meeting

Read more ...