Wed, Feb
16 New Articles

Junior high for Islandeady as they take title



Mayo Club Championship

Junior Final
Islandeady 2-11
Cill Chomáín 1-7

Michael Gallagher

RAMPANT Islandeady were crowned Mayo Junior football champions for the first time since 2011 in a sea of green in Castlebar on Sunday.
The West Mayo men were utterly dominant and played some sparkling football to consign Cill Chomain to their second final defeat in succession.
Shane Hopkins’ men had excellent performers throughout the pitch with goalkeeper Bryan O’Flaherty, midfielder Seamie Lally and full-forward Darragh Joyce among the stars.
The game didn’t liven up until the last five minutes of the first half when both sides began to play as they can. Islandeady had started the game with a bang and were three points up after only five minutes as Cill Chomain stuttered.
However, the Erris men temporarily found their feet and a goal and a point from full-forward Derek Moran put them in front. The goal arrived in the ninth minute after fine play from Lorcan Mason, Joe Mason and Justin Healy,
Islandeady refused to panic and returned to their dominance with Lally doing well around the middle and goalkeeper O’Flaherty landing two placed balls.
The West Mayo lads were four up as half-time approached before Cill Chomain got into their groove again and, with Joe Mason prominent, they scratched one off that deficit to leave Islandeady 1-6 to 1-3 clear at the interval.
The scoreline changed dramatically early in the new half when Seamie Lally powered through for a decisive goal to put six between the teams. That gap more or less remained for the next 20 minutes with Cill Chomain trying to make inroads and Islandeady doing enough to fend them off.
Darragh Joyce was particularly impressive for the leaders and when veteran midfielder Peter Collins landed a beauty from downtown after 50 minutes the roar could be heard in Boston. At that stage, Cill Chomain’s best player, Joe Mason, had been sin-binned and the chances of bringing the silverware north was gone.
The run-in was a joy for the men in green. Young goalkeeper Bryan Flaherty brilliantly kept out three goal efforts from Healy and also made a flying save from Mark Tighe to deservedly copperfasten Islandeady’s return to intermediate football after being relegated two years ago.

B O’Flaherty; T Gibbons, P Gordon, L Coyne; D O’Malley, N McCormack, L Barrett; P Collins (0-1), S Lally (1-0); P Carolan (0-1m), B Gibbons (0-3), D Gibbons; C Joyce (0-1), D Joyce (0-3, 2f), L Joyce (1-0).
Subs used: P Corcoran, J Doyle, C Gallagher.

K Gallagher; S Moran, B Moran, L McGrath; E McGrath, J Mason (0-1), L Mason; L Tighe (0-1), Declan Murphy (0-1); J Corduff, J Healy (0-1), Darragh Murphy; M Tighe, D Moran (1-1), M Geraghty (0-1)
Subs used: D Walker, J Flannery, A Conroy (0-1), A Mills.

Referee: J Finn (Aghamore)


Latest Sport

Positive start to McStay era

FOOTBALL Columnist Billy Joe Padden gives his thoughts after watching Mayo draw with Galway in the first round of the National League

Read more ...

Mayo hit the road to Armagh

FOOTBALL Mike Finnerty sets the scene ahead of Sunday’s trip to Armagh for Kevin McStay and his team

Read more ...

Pitch invaders ‘frustrate’ officials

FOOTBALL A leading Mayo GAA officer admits that last Saturday night’s pitch invasion in Castlebar was ‘a little bit frustrating’

Read more ...

Opening night doesn’t disappoint

FOOTBALL Anne Marie Flynn gives a fan’s perspective on last Saturday night’s clash between Mayo and Galway and the dramatic ending

Read more ...

Did Mayo win or lose a point?

FOOTBALL Edwin McGreal assesses Mayo’s draw with Galway and looks at some of the talking points behind the final scoreline

Read more ...