Wed, Feb
17 New Articles

Islandeady book junior final ticket



Mayo Junior Club Football Championship


Islandeady 0-13
Shrule/Glencorrib 0-11

Oisín McGovern

A MONSTER free from goalkeeper Bryan O’Flaherty sent Islandeady into this year’s County Junior ‘A’ Final at the expense of Shrule/Glencorrib on Saturday afternoon.
The game was there to be won for the South Mayo lads, but their failure to close it out ultimately cost them against an Islandeady side who rallied valiantly in the final quarter.
Wind and rain made for a match that was high on intensity but somewhat lacking in quality, which was understandable given the difficult conditions.
The teams were level nine times in total before Islandeady pulled away with late points from centre-back Niall McCormack and Mayo Under-20 ‘keeper Bryan O’Flaherty.
There was virtually nothing to separate them in a first half which finished 0-6 apiece.
When the sun emerged after half-time, it shone brightly on Shrule-Glencorrib, who looked the better team but weren’t quite able to pull away.
Evan Cawley was in inspirational form for Tom Burke’s men, kicking six points (two frees) with his booming left boot.
Despite being limited at times in attack, Islandeady fought on like dogs and had the game level when Pat Carolan fisted a Bryan O’Flaherty ’45 over the bar in the 54th minute.
Victory was there for the taking, and Islandeady duly accepted the invitation.
Niall McCormack gave them the lead with his second of the afternoon before Bryan O’Flaherty hit a free for the ages.
Roughly forty yards from the endline and just yards from the stand, the teenager sent the ball straight between the posts with his right boot.
Shrule/Glencorrib pumped plenty of ball into the square in the few minutes that remained, but their efforts were all in vain.
To read the full report – plus reaction – pick up Tuesday’s edition of The Mayo News.

B O’Flaherty (0-3, 2 ‘45s, 1f); T Gibbons, P Gordon, L Coyne; D O’Malley (0-1), N McCormack (0-2), L Barrett; P Collins, S Lally (0-1); P
Carolan (0-1), B Gibbons (0-2), D Gibbons; C Joyce, D Joyce (0-3, 2f), L
Subs used: P Corcoran for C Joyce (34 mins); J Doyle for D Gibbons (44 mins); C Gallagher for L Joyce (49 mins)

G Hennelly; E Reilly, J Naughton, TJ Canavan; S Biggins, J O’Dowd; N Sheridan; E Cawley (0-6, 2fs); C Garvey; F O’Dowd, K Ryan (0-1), E Hennelly; C Bohan, S Mellett (0-1), B Ryan (0-2, 1f).
Subs used: N McGhee for E Hennelly (40 mins); R Ward (0-1) for B Ryan (47 mins); D Geraghty for C Garvey (55 mins).

Referee: V Neary (Bonniconlon)

Latest Sport

Positive start to McStay era

FOOTBALL Columnist Billy Joe Padden gives his thoughts after watching Mayo draw with Galway in the first round of the National League

Read more ...

Mayo hit the road to Armagh

FOOTBALL Mike Finnerty sets the scene ahead of Sunday’s trip to Armagh for Kevin McStay and his team

Read more ...

Pitch invaders ‘frustrate’ officials

FOOTBALL A leading Mayo GAA officer admits that last Saturday night’s pitch invasion in Castlebar was ‘a little bit frustrating’

Read more ...

Opening night doesn’t disappoint

FOOTBALL Anne Marie Flynn gives a fan’s perspective on last Saturday night’s clash between Mayo and Galway and the dramatic ending

Read more ...

Did Mayo win or lose a point?

FOOTBALL Edwin McGreal assesses Mayo’s draw with Galway and looks at some of the talking points behind the final scoreline

Read more ...