Wed, Nov
10 New Articles

Moy Davitts and Hollymount-Carramore reach Mayo IFC semi-finals



Moy Davitts 2-11
Louisburgh 1-11

Edwin McGreal

MOY DAVITTS demonstrated their Intermediate championship title credentials with an impressive and fully deserved win over fancied Louisburgh in Islandeady.
Louisburgh only played in patches while Moy Davitts provided the greater consistency over the hour; they will now face Kilmeena in the county semi-final.
The winners led 0-2 to 0-0 early on, but could have been further in front had Shane Nallen not stopped shots for goal from Cian McHale and Conor Reid.
Louisburgh didn’t score until the 16th minute, but Dylan Prendergast’s free was the first of five unanswered points in ten minutes to put Ronan O’Grady’s side into a scarcely deserved three point lead.
Moy Davitts then got the goal their efforts deserved – Conor Reid beating Shane Nallen to a high delivery from Cian McHale.
The sides were deadlocked at the break, 1-3 to 0-6, but Moy Davitts seemed to take control after the break.
Another goal from Reid, who was lethal whenever he moved into the full-forward line, after a sublime pass from McHale, had them 2-5 to 0-7 up but Louisburgh underlined their own credentials shortly after.
They struck 1-4 in four minutes. Two wonderful points from sub Seán Keane were the pick of them while the goal came from an Oisín Lally flick.
It left them 1-11 to 2-5 clear after 46 minutes and seemingly in control.
But they would not score again, and Moy Davitts brought the greater ‘want’ and smarts to the final quarter.
Points from Cian McHale (2), the leveller from Ryan Kenny and the lead score from McHale after 53 minutes preceded injury-time points from Liam Byrne and Cathal Clarke to
make the game safe.
You can read a full match report in Tuesday’s edition of The Mayo News.

Moy Davitts
C McGlynn; T Ruane, D Ruane, C Quinn; M Babiarczyk, N Murphy, R Kenny
(0-1); J Mulderrig, C Reid (2-1); J Hughes, C Clarke (0-1), P Ruane; L Byrne (0-1),
A Jordan, C McHale (0-7, 4fs).  
Sub used: C Byrne for Hughes (50 mins).

S Nallen (0-1, ‘45); D O’Malley, E O’Malley, B McLeod; S Corrigan, R Prendergast, M Dawson; P O’Malley (0-1), Padraic Prendergast (0-1); J Gibbons, K Gibbons (0-1), A Moran (0-1); O Lally (1-0), M Ball, D Prendergast (0-4,4fs).
Subs used: A Morrison for McLeod (h/t); S Keane (0-2) for Ball (40 mins); Paul Prendergast
for Dawson (49 mins); J O’Malley for R Prendergast (56 mins).

Referee: D Corcoran (Islandeady)

IFC Quarter-Final

Hollymount-Carramore 1-14
Crossmolina 3-7

Mike Kelly

HOLLYMOUNT-CARRAMORE reached the last four of this year’s Intermediate Championship by the skin of their teeth in Parke on Sunday afternoon.
Conor Heneghan’s goal three minutes from the end of normal time proved to be the winner after the South Mayo amalgamation were forced to come back from three points down early in the second-half. They will now take on Ballyhaunis in the semi-final.
Despite a brilliant performance from Jordan Flynn in the middle of the park for Crossmolina, the Deel Rovers were arguably second best on the balance of play throughout and Tom Connelly’s men were deserved winners.
Fionan Duffy did have a chance to bring the game to extra-time with the last kick of the game, but his long-range free came back off the post into Hollymount-Carramore hands before the final whistle was blown.
The sides were level heading into the closing stages, but man of the match Darren Coen stood up in the final few minutes; first with a monster point from 45 metres out right on the sideline before he set up Conor Heneghan for the game-winning goal with a pass that only the Mayo star could have spotted.
Coen lined up for a shot on goal, but instead chipped the ball in to Heneghan who was through on goal and made no mistake.
Conor Loftus and two frees from Fionan Duffy left just the minimum between the sides before Duffy hit the post with the last kick of the game to see Hollymount-Carramore emerge victorious by the bare minimum.

N Campbell; S Conroy, S Coen, C Geraghty; P Feerick, R Molloy, E Maloney; N Moran, D Jennings; M Saunders, T Morris (0-1), JJ Connelly; C Keane (0-1), D Morris, D Coen (0-10,5fs,1mark)
Subs used: C Heneghan (1-1,’45), C Healy (0-1), O Duffy.

JP Mulhern; E O’Boyle, K Mulhern, F Gill; P McAndrew, D Cadden, M Loftus; C Loftus (0-1), D Syron; D Hegarty, C Carolan (0-1), J Flynn (1-1); N Coggins, F Duffy(1-4,4fs), D Walsh (1-0).
Subs: L Loftus, D Howley, N Caden.

Referee: F Flynn (Aghamore)

Latest Sport

Geelong’s gain is Mayo’s loss

FOOTBALL Edwin McGreal says it’s hard to argue with Oisin Mullin’s decision to move to Australia to play professional sport

Read more ...

‘Survival of clubs’ no minor issue

FOOTBALL A leading Mayo club manager and a Mayo GAA official are concerned about the GAA’s underage grade proposals

Read more ...

‘Serious concerns’ about MacHale Park pitch

GAA The condition of the playing surface at Hastings Insurance MacHale Park was described as ‘a very serious concern’ at last week’s meeting of the County Board

Read more ...

Lacken and Kilfian to come together

GAA Two North Mayo clubs, who have both struggled to field teams in recent times, have agreed to seek permission to play together at adult level next year

Read more ...

Ballinrobe’s Duffy ready to go again

FOOTBALL Diarmuid Duffy has had a busy season with the Mayo Under-17s and his club, but he’s all set for colleges football with Ballinrobe Community School

Read more ...