Skip to content
Landing page show after 5 seconds.
Thu, Nov
12 New Articles

3 Connacht final talking points


CUTTING A DASH Mayo’s Oisin Mullin goes past Galway’s Paul Conroy during Sunday’s Connacht SFC Final at Pearse Stadium. Pic: Conor McKeown

Mike Finnerty

1 Mayo’s hectic schedule

PLAYING five inter-county football matches in the space of 28 days is no joke, even for a squad as well-prepared and conditioned as Mayo’s. But that’s exactly the hectic schedule that the newly-crowned Connacht champions concluded last Sunday.
Four wins and a one-point defeat isn’t bad going either, although it’s unfortunate that being pipped by Tyrone a few weeks ago meant Mayo were relegated to Division 2.
But since then James Horan’s squad have been men on a mission, beating Leitrim, Roscommon and Galway in three away games in the space of 14 days to win the Nestor Cup.
Their S&C coach, Conor Finn, is surely due a Christmas ‘box’ from Mayo GAA!  

2 First title for baker’s dozen
BY our count, 13 members of Mayo’s match-day squad of 26 last Sunday were winning their first Connacht senior championship medals; an amazing stat when you think about it.
Of the starting team, Oisin Mullin, Eoghan McLaughlin, Conor Loftus, Matthew Ruane, Ryan O’Donoghue and Tommy Conroy were breaking new ground.
Four more ‘first-timers’ came on: Bryan Walsh, Jordan Flynn, Fionn McDonagh and Mark Moran; while Padraig O’Hora, Rory Brickenden and Michael Plunkett were non-playing substitutes who picked up their first medals at this level.
To put their achievements into context, most of them had never even played against Galway in the championship before, let alone beat them.

3 Horan’s record achievement
LAST Sunday’s victory marked James Horan’s fifth Connacht senior championship title success as Mayo manager. So it didn’t take long for the question to be asked: is he now the most successful Gaelic football manager in the province?
Well, John O’Mahony would probably have something to say about that.
The legendary Ballaghaderreen manager won eight Connacht championships in total during his time on the sidelines in the province, with Mayo (1988, 1989 and 2009), Leitrim (1994) and Galway (1998, 2000, 2002 and 2003).
But Horan has now won more Nestor Cups as Mayo manager than anybody who has come before him in the job. John Maughan won four Connacht SFC titles during his two terms.

Latest Sport

Mayo have been warned

FOOTBALL Billy Joe Padden believes that James Horan will have to plan carefully for the threat that Tipperary will pose in the All-Ireland semi-final

Read more ...

Prenty reflects on Connacht campaign

GAA Connacht GAA CEO John Prenty explains how games being played behind closed doors cost the provincial council over €1m

Read more ...

3 Nicky Rackard Cup Final talking points

HURLING Ger Flanagan picks out a few conversation-starters for Mayo hurling supporters in the wake of last Sunday’s defeat to Donegal

Read more ...

Reflections on a life well-lived

GAA Ger Flanagan pays tribute to his grandfather of the same name who passed away recently

Read more ...

A different waterworld for Nicholas Quinn

SWIMMING The Castlebar swimmer talks about how life, and preparing for the Olympic Games next year, has changed so much over the last eight months

Read more ...