Skip to content
Landing page show after 5 seconds.
Thu, Sep
18 New Articles

Mazars review prompts Mayo GAA changes


STATEMENTMayo GAA Board chairman Liam Moffatt is pictured at the County Convention last December. Pic: Michael McLaughlin

Mike Finnerty

MAYO GAA chiefs have confirmed that they will be taking on board a number of recommendations in the wake of an internal Mazars review into how the county’s financial operations are run.
County Board chairman Liam Moffatt has described the review, which has been taking place since earlier this year and concluded recently, as ‘a challenging but essential process to ensure that Mayo GAA continues to support its clubs, inter-county teams and wider supporter network’.
“Over the last six months, this executive has worked tirelessly to review and establish structures that will monitor and support Mayo GAA’s financial operations and support developments in the future,” Moffatt said in a statement after the first physical County Board meeting since March was held at MacHale Park last Monday night across two sessions, in line with social distancing guidelines.
“At tonight’s meeting delegates were presented with significant changes to our organisational structures which have been made possible by the dedication and commitment of our executive committee,” explained Moffatt.
“They have also been informed of some new stakeholders who will be brought to the table with expertise across all sectors. This synergy of hard working volunteers and industry leaders with wide-ranging expertise represents an exciting time for all of those involved in Mayo GAA.”
Moffatt told club delegates at last Monday night’s County Board meeting that they would take the advice of the audit and accountancy firm on board in a number of areas, including procure to pay cycle, gates, credit card management, treasury management, expense claim management, ticketing, sponsorship and fundraising activities.
Club delegates were told that ‘Mazars believe this will improve the day-to-day operation and governance of the financial affairs of Mayo GAA’.
This message is also understood to have been repeated when senior County Board officers spoke to club chairpersons in separate online video calls last week.
“Follow up meetings are planned with Mazars later in the year to ensure recommendations have been taken on board and implemented in a timely manner,” Mayo GAA said in their statement.
Clubs were also informed about the establishment of a number of new committees that ‘will address key areas of development, from financial oversight to fundraising policy, infrastructural development and cultural development’.
These are: Mayo GAA Audit & Risk Committee; Cairde Mhaigh Eo Fundraising Committee; Cairde Mhaigh Eo Fundraising Policy; Mayo GAA Financial Committee; Mayo GAA Development Committee; and Mayo GAA Cultural Committee.
The Audit & Risk Committee — whose responsibilities shall be to monitor and assess the integrity of the financial statements of Mayo GAA and any formal announcements relating to Mayo GAA’s financial performance — will be comprised of Pádraig Ó Céidigh (Cathaoirleach), Morgan Deane, Frank Walsh and Bill Carthy.
The Cairde Mhaigh Eo Fundraising Committee — a sub-committee of the Mayo GAA Board which has been given responsibility for the formation of commercial and fundraising strategies — will consist of: Maria Staunton (Carnacon), Pat O’Donnell (Kilmeena), Finbarr James (Knockmore), Ciarán O’Hara (Kiltane), Paul Cunnane (Davitts), John Farragher (Garrymore), Liam Breheny (Charlestown), Tracey Glacken (Bonniconlon), Paraic Joyce (Kilmaine), Michael Lang (Tuar Mhic Éadaigh), Liam Moffatt (Mayo GAA Chairperson), Dermot Butler (Mayo GAA Secretary), Valerie Murphy (Mayo GAA Treasurer).
The Mayo GAA Financial Committee will be comprised of: Valerie Murphy (Mayo GAA Treasurer, Chair), Michael Diskin (Mayo GAA Assistant Treasurer), Liam Moffatt (Mayo GAA Chairperson), Dermot Butler (Mayo GAA Secretary), JP Lambe (former Mayo GAA Treasurer), Fergal O’Connor (Chartered Accountant).
The Mayo GAA Development committee will consist of: Chairperson: Mary Prenty (Ballyhaunis), Padraig Prendergast (Ballina), Declan Hughes (The Neale), Brendan Mooney (Kiltimagh), Willie Keaveney (Kilmeena), James Rocke (Event Controller), Paddy Muldoon (Insurance), Jerry Henry (Safety), Paddy Mc Nicholas (Head Steward), Willie Kelly (Deputy Head Steward), Michael Lang (IT), Michael Diskin (Asst Treasurer).
The Mayo GAA Cultural committee, which shall be responsible for the promotion of Irish language, Scór and other cultural activities, will consist of: Chairperson: Grainne Frayne; East Mayo: Aingeal Uí Maicín  (Kiltimagh); North Mayo: James Gibbons (Lahardane, Secretary), Liam Heffron (Moygownagh, History Officer) ; South Mayo: Jackie Duggan (Claremorris), John Muldoon (Shrule); West Mayo: Ann Forry (Achill), Mary Fergus (Louisburgh , Scór Treasurer), Michael Lang (Tuar Mhic Éadaigh, Irish Officer).


Latest Sport

Winter football is coming

FOOTBALL Billy Joe Padden sets the scene ahead of the return of the inter-county season next month

Read more ...

Breaffy come up short again

FOOTBALL Edwin McGreal offers an overview of last Sunday’s Mayo senior club football championship final

Read more ...

3 county senior final talking points

FOOTBALL Mike Finnerty picks out three conversation starters from Knockmore’s win over Breaffy last weekend

Read more ...

A new dawn breaks for Balla

FOOTBALL Colin Sheridan watched his home club win their first ever Mayo Intermediate club championship title last weekend

Read more ...

A great day for the Kilmaine parish

FOOTBALL Willie McHugh was among the small crowd that saw Kilmaine finally win the Mayo Junior club championship title last weekend

Read more ...

Listen now to our podcast