Skip to content
Landing page show after 5 seconds.
Thu, Sep
18 New Articles

Club Stars awards officially launched


WORKING TOGETHER Former Mayo footballers Ger Cafferkey and Andy Moran are pictured with Seán Deane (AIB, sponsors) and Martina Jennings (CEO, Mayo Roscommon Hospice, the Club Stars charity partners) at Knockranny House Hotel, Westport last week.  Pic: Michael McLaughlin

Mike Finnerty

TWO former All Star footballers were on hand to help officially launch the 15th edition of the Club Stars awards last week.
Former Mayo stars Ger Cafferkey (who will be receiving the Spirit of Mayo - Personality of the Year award) and Andy Moran (who is nominated for the ‘Team of the Year’) were both on hand at Knockranny House Hotel, Westport to lend their support.
Proceeds from this year’s Club Stars awards — which are being held on Saturday, January 11 next — are being donated to the Mayo Roscommon Hospice, who are currently trying to raise awareness and funds for a new Hospice building in Roscommon.
Representatives of the Club Stars’ sponsors AIB and O’Neills Sports and media partners The Mayo News, were also in attendance, as was the CEO of the Mayo Roscommon Hospice, Martina Jennings.
“Events like the Club Stars are so important for us, we always say whether you raise €100 or €2000, every single penny counts,” explained Martina.
“We’re so grateful to The Mayo News to have us back for a second year. It’s been a huge year on the GAA scene and a huge year for Mayo Roscommon Hospice.
“We finished our first ever hospice in Mayo, a 14-bed facility, which has been built entirely on fundraised income. It came in under budget but it was still a cost of €8.9 million, which has been completely done on fundraised income and we couldn’t do it without support from the likes of the people at the Club Stars and fundraisers like this, and GAA clubs and communities throughout both counties.
“It is an incredible achievement and I always say it is a hospice that truly has been built by the people and for the people of both counties.”
The 2017 Footballer of the Year, Andy Moran, a veteran of previous Club Stars banquets with Ballaghadereen, also spoke about what being nominated for an award means to him.
“It’s a great night, I always enjoyed it. You definitely enjoy it more when you win.
“It’s going to be quite difficult this year because we haven’t won, but I would see that we’re at the start of our journey as a team so hopefully we can go and enjoy the night, get some energy from it, and bring it to training at the start of the year.”

Managers of the Year
MEANWHILE, there will be joint winners of the Club Stars ‘Manager of the Year’ award next month with Kevin Johnson and Eoin Hughes both picking up trophies.
Johnson led the Ballintubber footballers to back-to-back Mayo SFC titles in 2019 while Hughes was at the helm of the Neale footballers as they won their first ever County Intermediate title.
Both winners will be presented with their awards at the Club Stars awards next month.

Latest Sport

Winter football is coming

FOOTBALL Billy Joe Padden sets the scene ahead of the return of the inter-county season next month

Read more ...

Breaffy come up short again

FOOTBALL Edwin McGreal offers an overview of last Sunday’s Mayo senior club football championship final

Read more ...

3 county senior final talking points

FOOTBALL Mike Finnerty picks out three conversation starters from Knockmore’s win over Breaffy last weekend

Read more ...

A new dawn breaks for Balla

FOOTBALL Colin Sheridan watched his home club win their first ever Mayo Intermediate club championship title last weekend

Read more ...

A great day for the Kilmaine parish

FOOTBALL Willie McHugh was among the small crowd that saw Kilmaine finally win the Mayo Junior club championship title last weekend

Read more ...

Listen now to our podcast