Skip to content
Landing page show after 5 seconds.
Tue, Aug
2 New Articles

Eastern Gaels GAA club win Club Stars award


WORTH WAITING FOR Eastern Gaels captain Peter Walsh is pictured receiving the Mayo Junior ‘B’ championship cup from Mayo GAA Board vice-chairman Seamus Tuohy back in October. Pic: Michael Donnelly

Mike Finnerty

EASTERN Gaels GAA club will be presented with the ‘Volunteers of the Year’ award at the 15th annual Club Stars banquet in Knockranny House Hotel, Westport on Saturday, January 11 next.
The awards are being run in conjunction with AIB, O’Neills Sports and The Mayo News while proceeds from this season’s Club Stars banquet will be donated to the Mayo Roscommon Hospice.
Tickets are currently on sale at
The East Mayo club, which were formed 35 years ago, landed their first Mayo county title outside of the underage ranks when they captured the County Junior ‘B’ championship crown by beating Crossmolina ‘B’ in the county final in October.
Goals from Michael McGarry, Paul O’Gara and Peter Walsh propelled the Eastern Gaels to an historic and famous victory, as they ran out 3-11 to 2-10 winners against the Deel Rovers’ second team.
Speaking to The Mayo News after that game, JP Coen, who took over the managerial reins last year, said that he was thrilled to see them get over the line.
“It was a mighty day for the Gaels and it took a huge effort to keep the Crossmolina resurgence at bay during that second half. There was so much goodwill for Eastern Gaels from around the county. This win means so much to the club and is a big inspiration to the young lads coming up through the ranks,” said JP.
The Eastern Gaels club have also made huge strides off the field in recent years, thanks in no small part to the sterling work done by the likes of chairman Luke Murray, vice-chairperson John Clancy, secretary Stephen Mooney, treasurer Tommy Joe Lyons, PRO Anne Dee, and coaching officer Tom Concannon to name just a few.
The Gaels have also been working hard on their pitch in Brickens to develop the next generation of club stars and they captured County Under-13 and Under-15 titles in the space of two days in 2019 — wins which were celebrated with great gusto by all involved in the club by all accounts.
And as Michael Commins wrote in these pages after the Mayo Junior ‘B’ Final in October, “This was a day to cherish for the club that was formed 35 years ago and would could not help but think of how happy and content would be Tom Waldron, Ciarán Byrne and Joe Gilmore (Snr) and others had they been around to witness this historic day for the club they loved so well.”

Golden Boot awards
MEANWHILE, Castlebar Mitchels’ Neil Douglas, James Shaughnessy from Claremorris and Ballagh’s Andy Moran all finished level as top scorers in the Mayo SFC and will receive Golden Boot awards at the Club Stars ceremony.
Douglas (1-29), Shaughnessy (2-26) and Moran (3-23) topped the charts. Meanwhile, The Neale’s Seanie Cosgrove will pick up the Mayo IFC Golden Boot after racking up 1-31 in six games.

Latest Sport

Keegan looking to drive on

FOOTBALL  Former Footballer of the Year Lee Keegan hopes that Westport can build on their first round club championship win over Breaffy

Read more ...

Mazars review prompts Mayo GAA changes

GAA The financial operations of Mayo GAA are set to be overhauled in the wake of an internal Mazars review into how the county’s financial affairs are run

Read more ...

Commercial officer contract not renewed

GAA Club delegates were informed at last week’s Mayo GAA meeting that a decision had been taken not to renew the contract of the Chief Commercial Officer, Tom Reilly

Read more ...

Mitchels find a way to beat Charlestown

FOOTBALL There was a poignant backdrop to last weekend’s Mayo senior club championship match between Castlebar Mitchels and Charlestown Sarsfields

Read more ...

Loftus fires Celtic to cup tie win

SOCCER The prolific Jordan Loftus proved to be the matchwinner once again as Castlebar Celtic advanced to the Connacht Cup quarter-finals

Read more ...

Listen now to our podcast