Skip to content
Landing page show after 5 seconds.
Thu, May
16 New Articles

Ger Cafferkey wins Club Stars award


IN THE ZONE Ger Cafferkey is pictured in the Green and Red of Mayo. Pic: Sportsfile

Mike Finnerty

FORMER Mayo footballer Ger Cafferkey will become the second recipient of the ‘Neill O’Neill Perpetual Trophy’ when he is presented with the ‘Spirit of Mayo - Personality of the Year’ award at the annual Club Stars banquet on January 11 next.
Cafferkey (32), who announced his retirement from inter-county football back in September, was selected by the judging panel to acknowledge his years of dedication and commitment, and the manner in which he represents both his club, Ballina Stephenites and Mayo.
The ‘Spirit of Mayo - Personality of the Year’ award is dedicated to the memory of the late Neill O’Neill, who was Managing Editor of The Mayo News when he passed away in October 2017.
The award is presented each year to a person who promotes the values of the GAA and Mayo at a local and/or national level in a positive and inspirational way.
Recent winners include Footballer of the Year recipients Lee Keegan and Andy Moran, and Charlestown and Mayo midfielder Tom Parsons.
“Ger Cafferkey was one of the finest full-backs that ever played for Mayo and he’s also a brilliant Ballina Stephenites clubman,” said Club Stars judge John Casey.
“To play for Mayo over 100 times, win six Connacht senior championship medals, and play at the highest level for so long just shows how good he was.
“He also showed incredible resolve and character to come back from a serious hamstring injury in 2016, and his commitment to the Stephenites was obvious again in the club championship this year. He had to literally crawl off the field near  the end of their quarter-final against Breaffy because he had given so much of himself. He’s a worthy winner.”
The Ballina native will be presented with this year’s award at the 15th annual Club Stars banquet – which is being run in conjunction with The Mayo News, O’Neills and AIB – on Saturday, January 11 next at Knockranny House Hotel, Westport.
Proceeds from this year’s event will be donated to the Mayo Roscommon Hospice.
A limited number of ‘early bird’ tickets will go on sale for the event today (Tuesday) at The remaining tickets will be released for sale in the coming days.
The Club Stars awards have always been ‘sold-out’ events over the years, and this time around is expected to be no exception.
So the advice is — ‘get your tickets early!’.
A number of other award winners will be announced over the coming weeks. For more information visit

Get your tickets now - Limited Early bird tickets available here

Latest Sport

Cillian comes out on top

FOOTBALL  Ballintubber star Cillian O’Connor has been voted as the number one senior player in our ‘Top 100 Mayo club footballers’ rankings

Read more ...

Mayo GAA chiefs plan for games to restart

GAA County Board officials have drawn up provisional plans for the 2020 Mayo club football championships, with a return to training for all players set for July 20

Read more ...

Think you know your GAA trivia?

GAA We’ve got a copy of the new book, ‘We Are Mayo’ to give away. To be in with a chance just answer our six GAA history questions correctly

Read more ...

Charlestown’s Gareth stays positive

FOOTBALL Gareth O’Donnell explains how he and all at Charlestown Sarsfields GAA club are filling the time ahead of a return to action

Read more ...

Quickfire questions with Darragh Keaveney

FOOTBALL Kilmeena forward Darragh Keaveney tells us how is coping during the sporting shutdown

Read more ...

Listen now to our podcast