Skip to content
Landing page show after 5 seconds.
Fri, Jul
16 New Articles

Club Stars Team of the Year shortlist is announced


Mike Finnerty

Eleven players from Mayo senior football champions Ballintubber have been nominated for this season’s Club Stars ‘Team of the Year’.
The final XV will be revealed at the 15th annual Club Stars banquet – which is being run in conjunction with The Mayo News, O’Neills and AIB – on Saturday, January 11 next at Knockranny House Hotel, Westport.
Proceeds from this year’s event will be donated to the Mayo Roscommon Hospice.
After retaining the Moclair Cup by beating Ballaghaderreen in the County Final, and also taking out Ballina Stephenites in the last four, it’s no surprise that Ballintubber dominate the list of nominees.
Eight players from beaten finalists Ballagh’ have also been nominated for a Club Star award, which honours those players who have performed with distinction during the 2019 Mayo club championships.
A total of ten clubs are represented among the nominees.
Senior semi-finalists Castlebar Mitchels (three) and Ballina (five) also have a number of players in the reckoning, including Mayo stars Paddy Durcan and Ciarán Treacy.
Beaten quarter-finalists Belmullet (two), Davitts (one), Breaffy (one) and Knockmore (one) are also represented.
Three players from this year’s Mayo Intermediate Championship have also been nominated as ‘wild cards’ with two from champions The Neale and one from runners-up, Ballyhaunis.
This year’s ‘Team of the Year’ nominees were selected by former Charlestown and Mayo footballer, John Casey, ex-Knockmore manager and Mid West Radio pundit Nigel Reape, and Mayo News GAA writers Seán Rice and Austin Garvin.
Their Team of the Year selection will not be revealed until the night of the banquet.
Senior champions Ballintubber dominate the nominees list with Brendan Walsh, Gary Loftus, Brian Murphy, Damien Coleman, Michael Plunkett, Jason Gibbons, Diarmuid O’Connor, Ciarán Gavin, Bryan Walsh, Stephen O’Malley and Cillian O’Connor all shortlisted.
Former Footballer of the Year, Andy Moran, along with David Drake, Owen Jordan, Shairoze Akram, Seamus Cunniffe, Ryan Lynch, Cormac Doohan and Cian Hanley all represent beaten finalists, Ballaghaderreen.
A good year for beaten semi-finalists Ballina is acknowledged with Ger Cafferkey, Padraig O’Hora, Jack Irwin, Seán Regan and Ciarán Treacy being nominated.
Castlebar Mitchels, meanwhile, have three nominees with Rory Byrne, Paddy Durcan and Neil Douglas all featuring.
Belmullet are represented by Chris Barrett and Gary Boylan, Davitts have Cathal Hennelly in the frame, with Aidan O’Shea flying the flag for Breaffy and Knockmore’s Kieran King also selected.
Intermediate champions The Neale were rewarded for their fine season with nods for forwards Seánie Cosgrove and Tommy Conroy while Ballyhaunis defender Keith Higgins is also in the mix.

Latest Sport

Mayo to play by GAA rules on training

FOOTBALL Mayo GAA chairman Liam Moffatt explains why he hopes ‘a collaborative approach’ with clubs will reap long-term benefits

Read more ...

Kelly up for whole new ball game

FOOTBALL Mayo ladies star Niamh Kelly looks ahead to the new-look All-Ireland senior championship

Read more ...

Claremorris off to a winning start

FOOTBALL Claremorris Captain James Shaughnessy lifted the first trophy of the restarted GAA season last Sunday

Read more ...

‘Even age’ youths to lose out this season

SOCCER Westport Utd coach Joe Kelly believes the Mayo Youths were wrong not to play ‘even age’ competitions this season

Read more ...

Italia 90 podcast a great adventure

SOCCER Rob Murphy reflects on the odyssey that was reliving the World Cup of thirty years ago

Read more ...

Listen now to our podcast