Skip to content
Landing page show after 5 seconds.
Sun, Jul
16 New Articles

Club Stars awards for Westport ladies and Balla GAA legend


TEAM EFFORT Pictured after the 2018 Mayo LGFA Intermediate football championship final were members of the Westport ladies management team. Left to right: Niamh McLoughlin (selector), James Gillespie (manager), Cathy Scahill (mentor) and Tony Keane (selector).


Mike Finnerty

THE Westport ladies’ Intermediate football team will pick up a ‘Special Achievement’ award at the Mayo Club Stars on Saturday, January 12 next at Knockranny House Hotel, Westport.
Westport made history by winning the Mayo Intermediate championship title back in October, beating Charlestown in a pulsating final.
It was their first county championship trophy at adult level since their 2009 Junior success, with Westport captain, Noirin Moran, and Shelly O’Grady the only survivors from the title win nine years earlier.
Westport went on to reach the Connacht Intermediate decider where they finished second best to St Brendan’s of Galway.
Westport Ladies GAA club — which now boasts 400 members — has been going from strength to strength in recent years, with their flagship Intermediate team leading the way.
Club chairperson, Declan Kennedy, along with the likes of Intermediate team manager, James Gillespie, and Niamh McLoughlin and Tony Keane are among those who have played major roles in Westport’s recent renaissance.
The proceeds from the Club Stars awards — which are being held in association with The Mayo News, O’Neills Sports and AIB — are being donated to the Mayo Roscommon Hospice who are currently fund-raising to build a 14-bed Hospice unit in Castlebar.

Toby McWalter is Supporter of the Year
MEANWHILE, legendary Balla GAA and Mayo GAA stalwart, Toby McWalter, has been chosen as the inaugural winner of the Club Stars ‘ Supporter of the Year’ award.
The category was conceived to acknowledge the dedication, commitment, sacrifice and passion of supporters who have followed their team through thick and thin over many years.
Toby is a lifelong Balla GAA fan, and played with the club in his younger days before going on to become a selector with the 1980 team that won a famous County Junior football championship title.
He has also been an ever-present at Mayo football matches for more than 40 years.

Tickets on sale
TICKETS for the Club Stars awards are selling fast and are available on or by calling (087) 7691669.
The ‘Team of the Year’ will be announced on the night, as will the ‘Player of the Year’ winners in the Young, Junior, Intermediate and Senior categories.
Category winners already announced include: Tom Parsons, Charlestown GAA (Personality of the Year), Joe Reapy, Davitts GAA (Volunteer of the Year), Paddy Muldoon, Westport GAA (Hall of Fame), Jimmy Martin, North Mayo GAA (Outstanding Contribution to Hurling), Paul Hunt, Tooreen Hurling Club (Manager of the Year), Kevin Johnson, Ballintubber GAA (Manager of the Year) and the Golden Boot winners, Cillian O’Connor, Ballintubber GAA (Mayo SFC) and John Gallagher, Mayo Gaels GAA (Mayo IFC).

1311 club-stars strip

Latest Sport

Mayo to play by GAA rules on training

FOOTBALL Mayo GAA chairman Liam Moffatt explains why he hopes ‘a collaborative approach’ with clubs will reap long-term benefits

Read more ...

Kelly up for whole new ball game

FOOTBALL Mayo ladies star Niamh Kelly looks ahead to the new-look All-Ireland senior championship

Read more ...

Claremorris off to a winning start

FOOTBALL Claremorris Captain James Shaughnessy lifted the first trophy of the restarted GAA season last Sunday

Read more ...

‘Even age’ youths to lose out this season

SOCCER Westport Utd coach Joe Kelly believes the Mayo Youths were wrong not to play ‘even age’ competitions this season

Read more ...

Italia 90 podcast a great adventure

SOCCER Rob Murphy reflects on the odyssey that was reliving the World Cup of thirty years ago

Read more ...

Listen now to our podcast