Skip to content
Landing page show after 5 seconds.
Wed, Aug
12 New Articles

Mayo rhyme off Limerick exam with ease


RECORD BREAKER Cillian O’Connor scores his first goal this evening on his way to scoring 3-9 as Mayo overcame Limerick. O’Connor became Mayo’s all-time top scorer tonight. 

Round 1
Mayo 5-19
Limerick 3-7
Edwin McGreal
Mayo lived up to their billing as 1/50 favourites against Limerick with an emphatic 18 point win.
It was Mayo’s most comfortable win ever in the Qualifiers but the paucity of the opposition has to be factored in.
Limerick have only won one game all year (a league win over Waterford) and despite scoring the game’s first score with a goal from a penalty, that never looked like changing.
Cillian O’Connor had Mayo level with three points from play and the second of those, after eight minutes, saw him break Conor Mortimer’s all-time Mayo scoring record.
The Mayo captain ended up with a whopping 3-9, an impressive 3-3 from play and reinforced his importance to Mayo.
When he is moving and scoring freely, Mayo are an altogether more dangerous outfit.
By half-time, Mayo had pulled clear, 1-10 to 1-1. They were comfortable while being far from brilliant. The goal came from O’Connor who linked exquisitely with Evan Regan before finishing to the net from close range.
Limerick did get the gap back to seven points with a goal from lively substitute Seamus O’Carroll in the 52nd minute.
That appeared to poke the bear and Mayo responded relentlessly with three goals in four minutes.
O’Connor got the first two to complete his hat-trick before sub’ Andy Moran got in on the act.
The Footballer of the Year was central to Mayo’s attacking thrusts in the final quarter and he grabbed Mayo’s last goal on 70 minutes.
The game finished how it started, with Limerick scoring a penalty. Conceding 3-7 did not please Stephen Rochford but Mayo did enough and then some at the other end. Tougher tests certainly lie ahead.
D Clarke; E O’Donoghue, G Cafferkey, C Barrett (0-1); C Boyle (0-1), K Higgins, P Durcan (0-2); S O’Shea, S Coen (0-1); K McLoughlin, A O’Shea (0-2), C Hanley (0-1); E Regan (0-1), C O’Connor (3-9, 0-5fs, 0-1 ‘45), J Durcan (0-1).
Subs: L Keegan for Boyle (46mins); J Doherty for McLoughlin (48mins); C Loftus for S O’Shea (52mins); A Moran (2-0) for Higgins (54mins); C Crowe for Hanley (inj 60mins); S Nally for O’Donoghue (63mins).
D O’Sullivan; S O’Dea, G Noonan, P Maher; P White, I Corbett (0-2), C Fahy; D Treacy, M Fitzgibbon; D Neville (0-1), S McSweeney (1-0, pen), P Nash; J Lee (0-1), J Ryan (0-2, fs), J Liston.
Subs: S O’Carroll (2-1, 1-0pen, 1f) for McSweeney (h/t); T McCarthy for Liston (48mins); P Scanlon for Lee (53mins); G Browne for Fitzgibbon (57mins); D Lyons for Neville (inj. 61mins); D Connolly for Nash (66mins).
Referee: Niall Cullen (Fermanagh).

Latest Sport

Prenty: inter-county season still uncertain

GAA Connacht GAA Council secretary John Prenty says that the chances of the 2020 championship season going ahead is ‘50-50 at best’ at the moment

Read more ...

Parsons pays tribute to the late Colm Horkan

FOOTBALL Charlestown midfielder Tom Parsons says that the death of his former club-mate has served as ‘added motivation’ for the club this year

Read more ...

Some club championship talking points

FOOTBALL We picked out some talking points from the second round of the Mayo club championships last weekend

Read more ...

Elvis on the crest of a wave

SURFING Elvis Beetham, a surf coach and personal development coach, answered our Quickfire Questions this week

Read more ...

Mayo league ready to go again

SOCCER The new Mayo soccer season finally kicks off this weekend, and Mayo League chairman Gerry Sweeney believes the standard ‘will be as good as anywhere in the country’

Read more ...

Listen now to our podcast