Sat, Dec
19 New Articles

Christmas in Mayo starts at Club Stars


READY AND WAITING The Willie McNeela Perpetual Trophy will be presented to the Mayo Senior Championship ‘Footballer of the Year’ on Friday night. Pic: Michael McLaughlin

Mike Finnerty

FOUR members of Castlebar’s all-conquering senior football team make up the nominees for the prestigious Mayo ‘Senior Footballer of the  Year’ award at next Friday night’s Mayo News/O’Neills Club Stars awards.
Dynamic defenders Eoghan O’Reilly and Paddy Durcan, outstanding midfielder Barry Moran and the prolific Neil Douglas have all been shortlisted for the coveted Willie McNeela Perpetual Trophy at  the charity banquet at Knockranny House Hotel, Westport.
The winner of the award is chosen by the Club Stars judging panel of  John Casey, Eamonn Clarke, Austin Garvin and Seán Rice.
The festive season will begin in earnest for hundreds of Mayo GAA fans at next weekend’s star-studded eleventh annual event, with all proceeds being donated to CF West and the Mayo Rape Crisis Centre.
Only a limited number of tickets are still currently on sale for the popular banquet, which is hosted in association with AIB.
The Mayo championship ‘Team of the Year’ will be announced on the night  with the ‘Manager of the Year’ and ‘Players of the Year’ in the Junior,  Intermediate, Young Footballer’ and Senior Championship categories also  being recognised.
The ‘Hall of Fame’, ‘Volunteer of the Year’ and ‘Hurling Recognition’ awards will also be presented to Billy Horan (Ballinrobe), Hughie and Packie McGinty (Achill) and Martin Linnane (Belmullet) respectively.
Meanwhile, Colm Reape (Knockmore), Alan Plunkett  (Ballintubber), Seanie Cosgrove (The Neale) and Brian Reape (Moy Davitts) will receive their ‘Golden Boot’ accolades.
New Mayo manager Stephen Rochford will also receive a ‘Special  Achievement’ award to mark his achievement in leading Corofin to the All-Ireland club title last March.
The Club Stars judges met recently to select the 15 players and five replacements that will make up the 2015 Team of the Year.
“There was nothing easy about picking the team again this year,” admitted John Casey last night. “The Mayo club championships are of such a high standard that picking the best twenty is easier said than done.
“I was lucky enough to win a Club Star award as a player and it’s a great honour after a long, hard season. But even to be nominated is a nice reward for players’ efforts.”

Latest Sport

Mayo GAA accounts show €1.1m surplus

GAA The annual Mayo GAA financial report to next Sunday’s County Convention has been described as ‘extremely satisfactory’ and shows a surplus of €1.1m

Read more ...

Seven top Mayo LGFA posts unfilled

FOOTBALL Last weekend’s Annual General Meeting of Mayo LGFA ended without a number of posts — including chairperson — failing to be filled

Read more ...

The big interview: Ronan Kirrane

GAA The outgoing Mayo GAA Assistant Secretary from Davitts GAA club has been outlining why he feels he should be the next Mayo GAA Secretary

Read more ...

The big interview: Mary Prenty

GAA The current Mayo GAA Planning and Training Officer from Ballyhaunis GAA club has been outlining why she feels she should be the next Mayo GAA Secretary

Read more ...

Mayo LGFA squads to increase to 40 players

FOOTBALL A motion to increase Mayo LGFA underage squads by ten players passed by just one percent at last weekend’s Annual General Meeting

Read more ...