Skip to content
Landing page show after 5 seconds.
Tue, Sep
2 New Articles

Fifteen go to post in Mayo


Edwin McGreal

Four late additions have swelled to 15 the number of candidates who will contest General Election 2020 in the Mayo constituency.
The deadline for nominations closed at midday today, and Mayo Returning Officer Fintan Murphy has confirmed to The Mayo News that 15 candidates will stand.
The late entrants are Westport-based Daithí Ó Fallamháin of the Irish Freedom Party; Castlebar-based Kamal Uddin of the Labour Party; Castlebar-based Gráinne De Barra, an Independent candidate; and another Independent, Ballyhaunis-based Stephen Manning.
Fine Gael has the most candidates with three, while Fianna Fáil has two candidates.
Sinn Féin, the Green Party, Aontú, People Before Profit, Labour and the Irish Freedom Party are all represented by a single candidate, whilst there are four independent candidates.
The candidates, their party, their base and their given occupation, in order as they were nominated to Returning Officer Fintan Murphy, are as follows:

Dara Calleary, Fianna Fáil, Ballina, public representative
Lisa Chambers, Fianna Fáil, Castlebar, public representative
Gerry Loftus, Independent, Bofeenaun, farmer
Rose Conway-Walsh, Sinn Féin, Belmullet, public representative
Saoirse McHugh, Green Party, Achill, sustainable agriculture advocate
Paul Lawless, Aontú, Knock, teacher
Michael Ring, Fine Gael, Westport, public representative
Michelle Mulherin, Fine Gael, Ballina, public representative/solicitor
Alan Dillon, Fine Gael, Castlebar, scientist
Seán Forkin, Independent, Charlestown, farmer/electrician
Daithí Ó Fallamháin, Irish Freedom Party, Westport, retired
Joe Daly, People Before Profit, Newport, teacher
Kamal Uddin, Labour, Castlebar, director
Gráinne Sinéad de Barra, Independent, Castlebar, social carer
Stephen Manning, Independent, Ballyhaunis, publisher

Voters will go to the polls on Saturday, February 8.