Wed, Mar
17 New Articles

Fianna Fáil select Carty and Ryan for Claremorris region


ON THE TICKET Cllr Damien Ryan and former councillor, Michael Carty (centre) pictured with from left: Roscommon TD, Eugene Murphy; Lisa Chambers, TD; Dara Calleary TD, and Michael Nally who contested the nomination at the Claremorris Electoral Area Fianna Fáil Convention in Claremorris on Sunday night.

No contests in Ballina or Swinford

Michael Commins

FORMER Fianna Fáil councillor Michael Carty is back on the party ticket to contest the county council elections in May. He will join outgoing councillor Damien Ryan in the newly constituted Claremorris Electoral Area which this time will be a six-seat constituency.
The Claremorris Area Convention was held in the McWilliam Hotel on Sunday night with three candidates going before the delegates, Damien Ryan, Michael Carty and Michael Nally. The valid poll was 142 with a quota of 48.
Only one count was required as Damien Ryan and Michael Carty reached the quota on the first vote. The figures were: Ryan 65, Carty 50, Nally 27. The count was supervised by Christabelle Feeney from party headquarters.
All three thanked their supporters and said they were confident of taking two seats for the party in May. Michael Carty said it was important to have a contest and both he and Cllr Ryan extended thanks to Michael Nally for going before the delegates.
Michael Nally, in a gracious and dignified address, expressed gratitude to those who had nominated and supported him and promised full support to the chosen candidates in the countdown to the May elections.
The convention, which was chaired by Roscommon TD and former Shannonside Radio presenter, Eugene Murphy, was also addressed by Mayo deputies Dara Calleary and Lisa Chambers and by Fianna Fáil candidates in the upcoming European elections, John Comer (Ballyvary) and Niall Blaney (Donegal). The chair of the Mayo Fianna Fáil Dáil Ceantáir, Gerry McGuinness from Crossmolina, was also in attendance.

There was no need for a vote at the Ballina Municipal District Convention on Sunday as just three names to fill the three places on the ticket came before the delegates. Outgoing councillors Annie Mae Reape and Michael Loftus were ratified along with Eamon Moore from Kilfian in the new six-seat constituency. This will be Eamon’s second bid for a seat. He was on the ballot paper in the 2014 campaign.
Things were very relaxed at the Swinford Electoral Area Convention held in the Park Hotel in Kiltimagh on Friday night. The Swinford area, which was divided between Claremorris, Ballina and Castlebar five years ago, has returned as a new four-seater. John Caulfield, who was elected for the Claremorris seven-seater in 2014, and Michael Smyth who was elected for the Ballina Municipal District, were the only names before convention and both will be confident of retaining their seats in May.
Fianna Fáil will hold their selection convention for the new Belmullet three-seat electoral area in Belmullet next Sunday.