Skip to content
Landing page show after 5 seconds.
Tue, Aug
2 New Articles

Prizes awarded to Tidy Towns winners in the west

Prizes awarded to Tidy Towns winners in the west

The Tidy Towns awards for the west region were presented last night (Monday) at a prize-giving ceremony in the Wyatt Hotel, Westport. Mayo towns and villages won many accolades once again this year.
The winners were presented with their awards by Minister of State at The Department of Transport, Tourism and Sport Michael Ring and Richard Lennon, Regional Manager with SuperValu, proud sponsors of the competition. They were also joined on stage by Brian Quinn, Fáilte Ireland. 
The overall winner for the region is Westport, Co Mayo. The town also won the title of Ireland’s Tidiest Large Town and were joined this year in the Gold Medal category by Castlecoote, Co Roscommon.
Belmullet won a silver medal, as did Keadue, Co Roscommon. Bronze medals were awarded to  Castlebar and Murrisk, as well as Abbey and Milltown in Co Galway, and Cloontuskert, Co Roscommon. Westport was awarded the title of county winner, as were Milltown, Co Galway and Castlecoote, Co Roscommon.
Speaking at the awards ceremony, Minister Ring said: “I’m delighted to have this opportunity today to acknowledge the efforts of Tidy Towns groups across this region, and to pay tribute to the very many enthusiastic and dedicated volunteers who get involved in this competition year on year regardless of the weather conditions.”