Sun, Feb
25 New Articles

Claremorris students to stage ‘Hairspray’ in Town Hall

Claremorris students to stage ‘Hairspray’ in Town Hall

Michael Commins

IT’S school musical time again in Claremorris and the Fourth Year students of Mount St Michael are all ready to host their new production of “Hairspray”, a show that centred around a dance school in the USA. This is a high energy show and this is the first time that it has been staged in Claremorris. It goes on in the Town Hall on next Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday, October 22-24, at 8pm nightly.
This is the latest in a series of fine shows undertaken by Mount St Michael over the past decade and they attract great support from throughout the region. All associated with Hairspray are confident that the high standard of former years will once again be on show next week.
The cast has worked tirelessly and enthusiastically and hours of rehearsal have gone into its preparation under the excellent musical direction of Ms Mary Grealis. Vivienne Moran has the dual role of director and choreographer. This is Vivienne’s eighth musical with Mount St Michael.
Local man John Flatley is bandleader and plays the keyboards. He will be joined by Michael Buckton on guitar, Craig Donaldson on bass, Bertrand Huve on clarinet, flute and saxophone and Barry Duffy on drums.
Set construction and painting are by Ms Sinéad Collins, Mark Osborne and Seamus O’Brien. The stage and props manager is Ms Thérèse Moran assisted by Ms Caroline Harrison.
The main cast of the show features Kirsty Monahan, Clare Killeen, Aoife McDonagh, Alice Shally, Roisín McGuinness, Sarah Peters, Danielle Delaney, Emma Prenty, Roisín Kearns, Ruth Kelly, Aishling McWalter, Katie Keaney, Fiona Cunningham, Nicole Devaney, Amy Crean, Gemma Cullina, Doireann Hughes, Catherine Dooley, Catherine Prendergast, Emma Nyland, Orlaith Finn, Olivia Kelly, Evelina Krusinskaite and Michaela McCormack.
Playing the role of the Council members are Siobhán Tuffy, Ellie Loftus, Aoife McWalter, Lisa Nally, Naomi Brennan, Orla Merrick, Tara Duffy and Annie Hughes. The Dynamites comprise of Megan Connolly, Tracey Mahon and Emma O’Reilly.
The members of the Ensemble area Siwani Baral, Georgee Clarke, Emilie Crausaz, Lorriane Cribbin, Siobhan Crowe, Sorcha Daly, Sinead Devane, Thomasina Dolan, Sofia Ferdini, Nicola Gallagher, Lydia Glynn, Chloe Healy, Zara Hennigan, Chloe Higgins, Sile Hughes, Karolina Kersulyte, Sandra Maloney, Laurie McDonagh, Amanda McLoughlin, Jessie Molloy, Taylor Morley, Ella Murphy, Sarah Murphy, Rebecca Nevin, Leah Nolan, Emily Rattigan, Laura Riede, Lisa Tierney, Rachel Whelan and Charlotte Whittaker.
The Pit Singers are Maura Beston, Méabh Brennan, Marissa Brett, Lauren Dowd, Cliodhna Egan, Ellen Healy, Roisin Henry, Lauren Hunt, Caoilfhionn Jordan, Dervla King, Sarah McLoughlin, Michelle McHugh, Lorraine Mooney, Yvonne Moran, Amy Nestor, Aoife Ni Aogain, Sinead Ni Cholmain, Cliodhna Nic Chaba, Laura O’Brien, Siobhan O’Brien, Rebecca Rahilly-McGann and Megan Shaughnessy.
The costume department will be managed by Ms Karen Mitchell, Ms Michelle Keenan, Ms Mary Hurley, and Ms Aine Conneely. Make up is under the direction of Ms Evelyn O’Connor. Front-of-house will be organised by Frances Lyons, assisted by other teachers and parents. And, of course, where would the show be without the ever reliable presence of school secretary Mary Kelly who is always there to lend a helping hand.
Ms Fionnghuala King and Margaret Burke are instrumental in ensuring that everything runs smoothly. All is ready and waiting …let the show roll on!