Mon, Mar
22 New Articles

Claremorris girl is No Name Club Hostess of the Year

Claremorris girl is named as No Name Club Hostess of the Year

Áine Ryan


A MAYO teenager, Eadaoin Ní Mhaicín, was named Hostess of the Year at the No Name Club National Youth Awards, held in Kilkenny over the weekend. As over 1,000 members from around the country gathered for the Host and Hostess of the Year awards at  Lyrath Estate Hotel, there were great celebrations when both awards went to the west, with Galway native, Cathal Broderick, claiming the  prize for Best Host of the Year.
Interviewed by RTÉ’s Damian Tiernan, Eadaoin Ní Mhaicín lilted a favourite reel and played ‘The Mason’s Apron’ on the fiddle, to the backdrop of a very supportive contingent of friends, family and club members from Claremorris.
Speaking yesterday the pre-Leaving Cert student said she was ‘so proud to have won for her club’.
“I can now make a real difference and can go out there and encourage other teenagers to become part of the No Name Club. It has made such a difference in my life. It has taught me that I can be myself, I do not have to follow any gang or give in to peer-pressure,” Eadaoin said.
She added: “The No Name club has taught me to respect others and myself.”
Like her parents, Mairtín and Aingeal, Eadaoin is a fluent Irish speaker and loves the culture, which is expressed through her sean nós singing and lilting, as well as through her membership of the National Youth and National Harp orchestras. Máirtín Ó Maicín said yesterday that both himself and Aingeal, as well as Eadaoin’s older brother, Aonghus, were ‘most proud of her achievement’. “We are also highly complimentary of Con Nolan and the No Name Club in Claremorris,” Mr Ó Maicín said. 
The ten awards finalists underwent in-depth interviews with the National Youth Awards adjudicating committee. The Host and Hostess of the Year awards are presented to the No Name Club members who, in the opinion of the adjudicating panel, have made outstanding contributions to their own personal development, their No Name Club and the wider community during the past year. “The calibre of these finalists representing the calibre of young people in this room and in No Name Clubs throughout Ireland is astonishing,” said No Name Club CEO, John Donovan.
Eadaoin was presented with the newly-inaugurated Jo Hannon Perpetual Trophy for Hostess of the Year by Tommy Hannon, from Portlaoise, who along with his late wife spent over 20 years as an adjudicator for the No Name Club’s Youth Awards.

No Name Clubs what are they?
FOUNDED in 1978 to provide an alternative to pub culture for young people, the No Name Club is one of Ireland’s largest and most vibrant voluntary youth organisations.
No Name Clubs are run by and for young people aged 15 years and over, who come together with their peers in a safe environment for fun, friendship and to enjoy a wide range of activities and outings free from the pressures associated with alcohol or other drugs. There are now almost 50 No Name Clubs operating in communities throughout Ireland, comprising around 15,000 young members and adult volunteers.


HAVE YOUR SAY email aineryan@mayonews.ie with your comments