Wed, Mar
1 New Articles

35 players togged for Mayo trial

35 players tog out for Mayo trials

Mike Finnerty

MAYO manager John O’Mahony ran the rule over 35 footballers who were not part of the county senior squad last season at a trial match last Saturday morning in Castlebar.
The likes of Ballaghaderreen’s James Kilcullen, Shrule/Glencorrib’s Kevin Walsh, Castlebar’s Alan and Richie Feeney, Garrymore’s Jimmy Killeen, and Westport’s Damien Keane were all given an opportunity to impress the Mayo boss ahead of the start of the FBD League next month.
The Mayo senior and U-21 management teams were both in attendance for the first of two trial games to take place this month between senior and U-21 hopefuls.
Under GAA regulations on winter training, two trial games can take place involving players who were not part of the 2009 squad.
The following is a list of those who took part last weekend: Michael Schlingermann (Kiltimagh), Robert Hennelly (Breaffy), David Gavin (Breaffy), Shane McHale (Knockmore), Pat Mulchrone (Burrishoole), Liam Feeley (Claremorris), Jason Healy (Kiltane) Shane Nally (Garrymore), Alan Feeney (Castlebar), Kevin Keane (Westport), David Kilkenny (Aghamore), Richie Feeney (Castlebar), Lee Keegan (Westport), Eoin Hughes (The Neale), James McAndrew (Cill Chomáin), James Kilcullen (Ballaghaderreen), Alan Freeman (Aghamore), Michael Gallagher (Achill), Cathal Carolan (Crossmolina), Jason Doherty (Burrishoole), Conor Keane (Ballinrobe), Chris Walsh (Ardnaree), Andrew Farrell (Killala), Damien Keane (Westport), Enda McManamon (Burrishoole), Jimmy Killeen (Garrymore), Kevin Walsh (Shrule/Glencorrib), Enda Varley (Garrymore), Paul Doherty (Kilmaine), Cormac Healy (Moy Davitts), Michael Walsh (Ardnaree), Sean Morris (Charlestown), David Dolan (Garrymore), Caolan Crowe (Garrymore) and Alex Quinn (Killala).
A number of other players were injured, involved in club fixtures or unavailable.  They included: Neil Douglas, Aidan Walsh and Ger McDonagh (Castlebar), James Burke (Ballymun Kickhams), Gerry Higgins (Knockmore), James Mulderrig (Moy Davitts), Marcus Hannick (Killala), Alan Egan (Bonniconlon) and Cathal Freeman (Aghamore).
A panel of players for the forthcoming FBD league will be announced early in the New Year. 
Mayo begin their Connacht League campaign with a home game against NUI, Galway on Sunday, January 10. They will also play Sligo IT and Roscommon.