Sat, Aug
17 New Articles

Dine with the stars

A group are pictured holding football shirts at the launch of Club Stars
CLUB STARS LAUNCH Pictured at the announcement that the proceeds from the 2006 Mayo News/O'Neills Club Stars will go to the Western Alzheimer Foundation and the Mayo Cancer Support Association were, left to right: Laurita Blewitt (The Mayo News), and Trevor Watson (O'Neills), Betty Dabbagh (Fundraising officer with WAF), John Grant (CEO of WAF) and Johnny Carey (PRO of MCSA)

Club Stars Charity Banquet

Mike Finnerty

THIRTY of Mayo’s best and brightest club footballers will be short-listed for this year’s Mayo News/O’Neills Club Stars awards with the nominees set to be revealed exclusively in The Mayo News on Wednesday, November 1.
This year’s Club Stars charity banquet will be held on Friday, November 24 at Breaffy House Resort and tickets for the event – which is being held in association with AIB – go on sale this week with all proceeds going to the Mayo Cancer Support Association and the West of Ireland Alzheimer Foundation.
Of the thirty players who will be nominated for the coveted awards, twenty-five will come from the Mayo Senior Championship and five ‘wild cards’ will be drawn from its Intermediate counterpart. The nominees will be chosen by Club Stars selectors, Eamonn Clarke (Mid West Radio analyst), Sean Feeney (Mayo GAA Board Secretary) and Sean Rice (The Mayo News).
The Club Stars team – plus five replacements – will be announced on the night with the Player of the Year and Manager of the Year awards also being presented.
Among those already confirmed to attend as special guests are Salthill-Knocknacarra’s All-Ireland winning captain, Maurice Sheridan, Mayo’s All-Ireland U-21 winning management team of Pat Holmes, Noel Connelly and Michéal Collins, as well as GAA personalities John Maughan and John O’Mahony.
A four course meal will be served on the night with live entertainment supplied by Ice On Fire. Mid West Radio will also broadcast from Breaffy House Resort on the night.