Sat, Dec
19 New Articles

Mayo boss wins Manager of Year


Mayo boss wins Manager of Year

Ballintubber man named as Club Stars manager of year

Mike Finnerty

THE man who masterminded Ballintubber’s first Moclair Cup success in their 100 year history, James Horan, has been selected as the Club Stars Manager of the Year.
The 38 years-old, who was also appointed as Mayo senior manager last month, will receive his award at The Mayo News/O’Neills Club Stars Charity Banquet (which is being held in association with AIB) on Friday, December 3 at Knockranny House Hotel, Westport.
Horan played with his native Ballintubber for many years, winning a County Intermediate championship medal in 1990. He was also joint-manager of the team when they captured another Intermediate title in 2007.
However, he excelled himself in 2010, leading the Abbeysiders to an historic county senior title and proving himself to be an astute and bright young manager. He follows in the footsteps of Declan Ronaldson, Tommy Jordan, Liam Higgins, Frank Kelly and Ciaran McBrien.
The Mayo Branch of Cystic Fibrosis Ireland will receive the proceeds from this year’s Club Stars Banquet and Friday week’s star-studded event looks set to be a sell-out.
Special guest on the night is Peter Canavan, the former Tyrone footballer and TV3 GAA pundit, with the multi-talented Liam Horan filling the role of Master of Ceremonies.
This year’s Club Stars Team will be revealed on the night with the Manager of the Year receiving his presentation and the Player of the Year also being announced. The winners of this year’s Mayo News Golden Boot awards will also be recognised.
A four course meal, musical entertainment, and a host of spot-prizes are among the attractions lined up at Knockranny House on the night. Tickets cost €60 and are available from The Mayo News office on (098) 25311 or e-mail clubstars@mayonews.ie
The 30 players shortlisted for awards were selected by Mayo GAA Board secretary Sean Feeney, Mid West Radio analyst Eamonn Clarke, Mayo News GAA writers Sean Rice and Austin Garvin. The quartet meet this week to select the 15 players and five replacements who will make up the 2009 team. This selection will be announced on the night.
“I think it’s going to be a brilliant night,” said Padraig Burns of Mayo Cystic Fibrosis last week. “We’re delighted to be the organisation that benefits from the Club Stars this year and I know the people of Mayo will rally around, as always, to support a very worthy cause.”

Order Tickets
IF you would like to attend this year’s Club Stars Banquet, and support Mayo Cystic Fibrosis, please call (098) 25311 between 9am and 5.30pm (Monday to Friday).