Sat, Dec
19 New Articles

Contest for Mayo GAA chair?

Contest for chair?

Mike Finnerty

THREE nominations have been received for the post of Chairman of the Mayo GAA Board ahead of the annual Mayo GAA convention in four weeks time.
The current vice-chairman, Paddy McNicholas (Kiltimagh), remains the favourite to take over from James Waldron (outgoing) but Vincent Walsh (Swinford) and Brendan Byrne (Castlebar) have also been nominated for the coveted position.
It remains to be seen, however, if all the nominees will allow their names to go forward on December 7.
There are also three nominees for the vice-chairman post with Mike Connelly (Hollymount), Kevin O’Toole (Tourmakeady) and Vincent Walsh (Swinford) all in the running.
Vincent Neary (Bonniconlon, outgoing) and Kevin O’Toole (Tourmakeady) have been nominated for the Assistant Secretary position.
Meanwhile, the next Assistant Treasurer of the Mayo GAA Board will come from a shortlist of Mattie Joe Connolly (Garrymore), Eddie Cuffe (Belmullet) and Kevin O’Toole (Tourmakeady).
O’Toole, who is stepping down from the PRO position after five years, will be succeeded by one of Richie Cosgrove (Kiltane), Tom Reynolds (Westport) or Aidan McLoughlin (Swinford).
Gerry Bourke (Breaffy) is the only nominee for the position of Oifigeach na Gaeilge.