Sun, Jan
21 New Articles

Horan returns to help Ballintubber cause


Duffy and Horan join forces in ’Tubber

Mike Finnerty

ONE half of Ballintubber’s Mayo SFC winning management team – Peter Ford - has stepped down from his post but Tony Duffy has decided to stay on and will be in sole charge of the county champions in 2015.
However, Duffy has also persuaded James Horan to join the Ballintubber set-up again and the former Mayo manager  will work as a ‘Performance Co-Ordinator’ as they bid to retain the Moclair Cup in 2015.
The duo worked together as joint managers of the West Mayo club in 2007 and combined to lead the Abbeysiders to a County Intermediate Championship crown.
Peter Ford informed club officials before Christmas that he would not be staying on for a fourth season and Tony Duffy was ratified as manager for the coming year at Sunday’s Ballintubber GAA club Annual General Meeting.
The Mayo News understands that James Horan’s responsibilities with his home club will include coaching, tailoring a training plan, and attacking play.
Former club captain John Feeney, Lynden Reilly, Seán Corcoran and Ger Brady have been appointed as team selectors.
Elsewhere, beaten county finalists Castlebar Mitchels will be managed by Declan O’Reilly and Declan Shaw this year.
The duo have been appointed as joint managers, succeeding Alan Nolan and Shane Conway who also worked in a joint capacity with the Mitchels last season.
There has also been a change of management in Ballinrobe for the coming season with Norman O’Brien returning to the hotseat for a second time.
The Kilmaine native is Ballinrobe’s third manager in as many seasons. He takes over from Jack Grimes who served a one-year term.
Another senior club to make an appointment in recent weeks is Ballaghaderreen who have installed former Sligo All Star Eamonn O’Hara as their new boss.
Westport, who were relegated from the senior championship last season, have also brought in a new man at the helm for 2015 with Damien Loftus taking charge.
The former Kilmeena boss will be assisted by selectors Conor Dever and Michael Killeen.  
Meanwhile, Tuam native Pete Warren, who led Davitts to a Mayo Intermediate Championship title in 2011, has returned to South Mayo and will be managing Kilmaine this year.
Warren takes over from Oliver Walsh.
Breaffy (Damien Mulligan) and Crossmolina (Joe Keane) are among the clubs who have not changed managers for the coming season.