Fri, Feb
21 New Articles

Voting close in player race

Voting close in player race

Mike Finnerty

VOTES for the People’s Choice Player of the Year award are continuing to pour in ahead of Friday night’s Mayo News/O’Neills Club Stars Charity Banquet at Breaffy House Hotel.
Three Crossmolina players – Ciaran McDonald, Joe Keane and Peadar Gardiner – along with three Ballaghaderreen stars – Barry Kelly, Andy Moran and Barry Regan – are all in line to pick up the Willie McNeely perpetual trophy.
The award will be presented to the outstanding player in this year’s Mayo club championship on Friday night. Votes have been cast for the past couple of weeks on www.mayonews.ie/sport and the result looks set to go right down to the wire.

Latest Sport

Mayo on a slippery slope

FOOTBALL Billy Joe Padden has some observations to make after watching Mayo’s second defeat of the National League

Read more ...

3 big game talking points against Monaghan

FOOTBALL Aidan O’Shea’s appointment as Mayo captain, a lengthening injury list and Tim O’Leary’s tweets were among the main talking points from last weekend

Read more ...

Horan slams online criticism of Hennelly

FOOTBALL Mayo manager James Horan has condemned the negative comments on social media around the selection of Rob Hennelly last week

Read more ...

Quickfire questions with Joseph Burke

RUGBY One of Ballinrobe rugby club’s young stars answered our questions ahead of next Sunday’s Connacht Junior Cup semi-final

Read more ...

3 players who caught our eye in Clones

FOOTBALL Ger Flanagan was keeping notes on Mayo’s Darren Coen, Ryan O’Donoghue and Paul Towey against Monaghan last Sunday

Read more ...

Listen now to our podcast