Sun, Jan
22 New Articles

Second Convention vote may be required


ELECTEDVincent Neary

Mike Finnerty

THE prospect of a second vote being required to decide which two delegates will represent Mayo GAA on the Connacht Council next year now seems increasingly likely.
This news comes after Mayo GAA released a statement last Tuesday admitting that they had been made aware of ‘a procedural error in relation to the counting of votes’ in the Connacht GAA Council delegates’ election at last Sunday’s County Convention.
The issue was near the top of the agenda when the new executive committee of the County Board met at MacHale Park in Castlebar last Wednesday night.
That meeting had already been scheduled before it emerged on Monday morning that an issue had arisen following the annual Convention in Belmullet.
Outgoing Mayo GAA Board chairman Mike Connelly had announced on the Sunday evening, some time after the Convention had officially concluded, that Vincent Neary (Bonniconlon) and Johnny O’Malley (Ardnaree Sarsfields) had been elected as Mayo GAA’s two delegates to the provincial council.
The result was declared following the counting and distributing of the 169 votes cast by club representatives using the PR system.
Johnny Hopkins (The Neale) and Ger McHugh (Hollymount/Carramore) were the defeated candidates.
However, Mayo GAA released a statement on Tuesday night explaining that ‘a procedural error’ had been ‘brought to their attention by one of the counting team on Sunday night’.
“Croke Park and the Connacht Council were contacted immediately to ascertain the next steps required to resolve the matter,” continued the statement. “All four candidates have been contacted in relation to this issue and it is hoped to bring the matter to a satisfactory conclusion in a timely manner.”
There are a number of possible outcomes to this latest Mayo GAA saga, with local sources suggesting that a recount may be required or even a second Convention having to take place in the coming weeks.
How the situation resolves itself will depend, to a large degree, on the positions taken by the four candidates who participated in the Connacht GAA Council elections. 

Latest Sport

Mayo bid farewell to the FBD

FOOTBALL The huge crowd who turned out to see last Sunday’s defeat to Galway certainly got value for money

Read more ...

Back to the beginning again

FOOTBALL Colin Sheridan looks at the landscape as a new season dawns for Mayo

Read more ...

3 Mayo players who caught our eye

FOOTBALL Mike Finnerty picks out three players who made a positive impact when they lined out against Galway in the FBD League last Sunday

Read more ...

Ballintubber’s Jayo is senior star

FOOTBALL Jason Gibbons was named the Club Stars Senior Footballer of the Year at last weekend’s awards ceremony

Read more ...

Best friends share Young Player award

FOOTBALL The Neale’s Tommy Conroy and Kilmaine’s Oisin Mullin were named as joint winners of the Club Stars Young Player of the Year award last Saturday night

Read more ...

Listen now to our podcast