Mon, Dec
0 New Articles

Nominations close for Mayo GAA Convention


HEAD-TO-HEAD Seamus Tuohy and Liam Moffatt have both been nominated for the position of Mayo GAA Board chairman. Pic: Michael Donnelly

Mike Finnerty

ONLY three positions are going to be contested at next month’s Mayo GAA Convention in Belmullet with the main focus on who will succeed Mike Connelly as County Board chairman.
As expected, Liam Moffatt from Crossmolina (Mayo GAA coaching officer) and Seamus Tuohy (Mayo GAA vice-chairman) are the only candidates nominated for the top post.
Both of them are understood to be already holding meetings with club officials around the county as they try to make their respective cases for election.
Moffatt is a former Mayo minor, under-21 and senior footballer who owns and runs the Mayo Sports Clinic in Ballina.
He won an All-Ireland club medal with Crossmolina in 2001, and six Mayo SFC medals with the Deel Rovers during his playing career.
Tuohy, a member of Breaffy GAA club, has been Vice Chairman of the board for the past five years. Prior to that he was Chairman of the Mayo GAA Bord na nÓg for four years. He is also currently the Chairman of the Mayo Competitions Control Committee (CCC).
Current chairman, Mike Connelly, is stepping down after serving his five-year term.
There is also a contest for the position of vice chairman with Paul Cunnane (Mayo GAA PRO) and Con Moynihan (chairman, Mayo GAA Bord na nÓg) going head-to-head.
Cunnane has served as County Board PRO for the last four years and has one year left to run in that position. He has been heavily involved in the creation and expansion of Mayo GAA TV and also co-ordinates and runs Mayo GAA’s various social media accounts and platforms.
The Davitts clubman was also the County Board’s liason officer to the Mayo senior team this year.
Moynihan, who is a member of Ballaghaderreen GAA club, has chaired Mayo GAA’s Bord na nÓg section for the last five years. Prior to that he was involved in the underage section of his club. He was also the County Board liason officer to the Mayo Under-17 team this year.
There will also be a contest for the two Connacht GAA Council positions with Johnny Hopkins (The Neale), Vincent Neary (Bonniconlon), Ger McHugh (Hollymount/Carramore) and Johnnie O’Malley (Ardnaree) all allowing their names to go forward.
There has only been one nominee for the position of County Board Treasurer, with Valerie Murphy from Charlestown set to succeed Kevin O’Toole from Tourmakeady, who announced his intention to step down at last year’s County Convention.
There will be no contests for the positions of Assistant Treasurer and Central Council delegate with Michael Diskin (Castlebar Mitchels) and Paddy McNicholas (Kiltimagh) the only nominees for the positions.
The current Mayo GAA secretary, Dermot Butler, and assistant secretary, Ronan Kirrane, will also be remaining in their positions unopposed.
The Mayo GAA Convention will take place on Sunday, December 15 at 12 noon in the Broadhaven Bay Hotel, Belmullet, and will be hosted and co-ordinated by the North Mayo GAA Board.

Latest Sport

County Board meeting to discuss media access

GAA Tuesday night’s meeting of the Mayo GAA Board will see club delegates discuss the issue of media access to County Board meetings in the future.

Read more ...

5 key questions around the Mayo GAA saga

GAA Edwin McGreal looks at some questions that still remain unanswered in the ongoing dispute between Mayo GAA chiefs and Mayo GAA International Supporters Foundation.

Read more ...

‘Meet and greet’ for Mayo GAA chairman candidates

GAA The two men vying to be the next chairman of the Mayo GAA Board spoke briefly to club delegates at last Tuesday’s AGM of the South Mayo Board.

Read more ...

Eastern Gaels GAA club win Club Stars award

GAA The ‘Volunteers of the Year’ winners at the Club Stars awards next month will be Eastern Gaels GAA club who won their first adult county title in 2019.

Read more ...

Glenties manager has strong Mayo ties

GAA Martin Regan, the manager of Naomh Conaill from Glenties, the Donegal senior football champions, has strong family ties to Mayo.

Read more ...

Listen now to our podcast