Mon, May
4 New Articles

Paddy Muldoon enters ‘Hall of Fame’


‘HALL OF FAME' AWARD  Paddy Muldoon


Mike Finnerty

FORMER Mayo GAA Board chairman, Paddy Muldoon, will be inducted into the Club Stars ‘Hall of Fame’ at this year’s awards ceremony in January.
The Aughagower native was selected for the prestigious accolade by the Club Stars judging panel to mark decades of dedicated service to Westport GAA club and Mayo GAA during a long and distinguished career as a player, manager/selector and administrator.
Paddy will be presented with the award at the 14th annual Club Stars banquet – which is being run in conjunction with The Mayo News, O’Neills and AIB – on Saturday, January 12 next at Knockranny House Hotel, Westport.
Proceeds from this year’s awards are being donated to the Mayo Roscommon Hospice. “Paddy’s love of the game was nurtured in his native Aughagower,” said Seán Rice, a member of the Club Stars judging panel.
“He won a West Mayo Junior medal with Islandeady in 1959, and was a member of the Mayo minor team which reached the Connacht final the same year.
“In 1960 he won a county senior medal with West Mayo beating Castlebar Mitchels in the final.
“When he opened an insurance business in Westport, he then joined the local team with whom he lined out for some years.
“Paddy became chairman of the Westport club in the mid sixties, a position he held for nine years.
“He went on to manage the Westport team that won the county junior title in 1970 and which reached the final of the county intermediate c’ship the following year.
“He was also a county minor selector in 1970, and in ’71 when Mayo won the All-Ireland minor title.
“A man of many talents, he was the chairman of the Mayo Minor Board when Mayo won the minor title in 1978.
“He was elected the chairman of the Mayo county board in 1980 a position he held for eight years. During his term, Mayo won two Connacht senior titles, an All-Ireland Under-21 title, and a minor title.
“After stepping from the chair, he was elected central council representative and at his first meeting appointed chairman National Development Committee.
“He also represented Mayo on the Central Council for many years and is still a member of Mayo GAA Board, as eager, dedicated and passionate as ever.
“He’s a worthy recipient of the Hall of Fame award.”
Tickets for the Club Stars awards are on sale now at www.clubstars.ie.

1311 club-stars strip

Folk & Bluegrass Festival 2019

2305 bluegrass advert

Listen now to our podcast