Sat, Jul
19 New Articles

Club Stars 2018 shortlist revealed


Mike Finnerty

ELEVEN players from Mayo senior football champions Ballintubber have been nominated for this season’s Club Stars ‘Team of the Year’.
The final XV will be revealed at the 14th annual Club Stars banquet – which is being run in conjunction with The Mayo News, O’Neills and AIB – on Saturday, January 12 next at Knockranny House Hotel, Westport.
Proceeds from this year’s event will be donated to the Mayo Roscommon Hospice.
After winning their first Moclair Cup since 2014 by beating defending champions Castlebar Mitchels and Breaffy in the semi-final and final, it’s no surprise that Ballintubber dominate the list of nominees.
Nine players from beaten finalists Breaffy have also been nominated for a Club Star award, which honours those players who have performed with distinction during the 2018 Mayo club championship.
A total of twelve clubs are represented among the nominees.
Senior semi-finalists Castlebar Mitchels (five) and Ballaghaderreen (three) also have a number of players in the reckoning, including Mayo stars Paddy Durcan and Andy Moran.
Beaten quarter-finalists Garrymore (three), Claremorris (one), Moy Davitts (one) and Westport (two) are also represented.
Four players from this year’s Mayo Intermediate Championship have also been nominated as ‘wild cards’ with three from champions Belmullet and one from runners-up, Burrishoole.
This year’s ‘Team of the Year’ nominees were selected by former Charlestown and Mayo footballer, John Casey, ex-Knockmore footballer and manager Nigel Reape, and Mayo News GAA writers Seán Rice and Austin Garvin.
Senior champions Ballintubber dominate the nominees list with Brendan Walsh, Gary Loftus, Brian Murphy, Damien Coleman, Michael Plunkett, Jason Gibbons, Diarmuid O’Connor, Ciaran Gavin, Bryan Walsh, Alan Dillon and Cillian O’Connor all shortlisted.
The O’Shea brothers, Aidan and Conor, along with Rob Hennelly, Mark Dervan, James Minogue, Dylan Cannon, Matthew Ruane, Gareth Dunne and Tommy O’Reilly all represent beaten finalists, Breaffy.
A good year for beaten semi-finalists Ballagh’ is acknowledged with Seamus Cunniffe, David Drake and Andy Moran being nominated.
Castlebar Mitchels, meanwhile, have five nominees with Paddy Durcan, Ger McDonagh, Ray O’Malley, Shane Hopkins and Neil Douglas all featuring.
Garrymore are represented by Trevor Nally, Gary Golden and Mark Tierney, Westport have Kevin Keane and Colm Moran in the frame, with Conor Diskin flying the flag for Claremorris and Brian Reape from Moy Davitts also selected.
Intermediate champions Belmullet were rewarded for their fine season with nods for defender Ciaran Barrett and forwards Ryan O’Donoghue and James Kelly while Burrishoole’s Jason Doherty is also in the mix.