Mon, May
4 New Articles

Westport and Derry legends to meet again


TOGGING Brian Kennedy

THE annual Westport United Legends versus Derry City Legends game will take place this Saturday, September 22 at United Park, Westport.
This popular match has taken place for the last 15 years and will kick-off at 2pm, with veteran referee, Pat Foley, the man in the middle.
Derry are bringing down a very strong team, which includes Ciaran Martyn (FAI Cup winner), Kevin Deery (FAI Cup winner), Donal O’Brien (Irish League winner), Liam Coyle (FAI Cup winner/League winner and arguably the best player who ever played League of Ireland), Floyd Gilmore (League Cup winner) and Stephen Johnston (Irish League winner.
Michael McBride and Brian Coffey’s Westport United panel boost many legends too, with Kevin ‘Kipper’ Joyce, Brian Kennedy (captain), Danny Scahill, David Cameron, Brian Fahy, Joe Lawless, Martin Geraghty, Alan McLaughlin, Ray McLaughlin, Ian McLaughlin and James Fahy all togging, along with ‘Older Legends’ Joe Fahy, Ronnie Ring, John ‘Peddler’ Moran and Noel Moran.
Kevin Joyce has sponsored the game, and there will be food in The Quay’s Pub on the night with music by Frank and Eamon, commencing at 9.30pm.
Old friends and former players are asked to turn up on the day — and that night. Noel Duffy, former Westport United player and chairman, Ollie Hopkins, Gerry Moran, Aiden King and Chris Keane will attend, and they will meet former Westport United players Stevie Wilkinson and Ivan Parkes.
A minute’s silence will be observed before the game in memory of the late Neill O’Neill, former Managing Editor of The Mayo News (who played in this tournament last year) and the late John Joe Geraghty (former player), whose son Martin is a current player and an FAI Cup winner in 2005.
A good day and night will be had by all and everyone is welcome.

Folk & Bluegrass Festival 2019

2305 bluegrass advert

Listen now to our podcast