Wed, Dec
18 New Articles

Tourmakeady club to be honoured


GROUP EFFORT Marie Prendergast (Comórtas committee), Pattie Stunduín Uí Aodhagáin (CLG Tuar Mhic Éadaigh, Cathaoirleach) and Brendan Prendergast (Vice-Chairperson) are pictured before the Comórtas Peile na Gaeltachta in Tourmakeady last summer. Pic: Trish Forde

Mike Finnerty

AFTER making such a spectacular success of hosting the 2017 Comórtas Peile na Gaeltachta tournament, CLG Tuar Mhic Éadaigh have been chosen as the winners of the ‘Volunteers of the Year’ award at The Mayo News/O’Neills Club Stars next month.
A huge number of people in the club — led by Chairperson Pattie Stunduín Uí Aodhagáin, secretary Michael Lang and treasurer David Lally to name just three — worked together over many months to make the iconic ‘Comórtas’ tournament such a resounding success on the June Bank Holiday weekend.
An estimated 4,000 spectators flocked to the shores of Lough Mask over the course of three days to watch the games, with over 600 players taking part in the Senior and Junior competitions.
The communities of both Tourmakeady and Partry worked together tirelessly in the year leading up to the ‘Comórtas’ to raise funds for the development of the CLG Tuar Mhic Éadaigh grounds.
An estimated €850,000 is believed to have been spent — monies gathered through fundraising, grants and a small loan — with a new Ionad Spóirt, an outdoor skills wall, a second pitch and a new car-park among the projects completed.
The ‘Volunteer of the Year’ award is dedicated to the memory of the late Seán Staunton, the former editor of The Mayo News, who passed away three years ago.
Seán was well-known for his volunteer work in many different walks of life, and was a great believer in the power and spirit of community development and the importance of the role of the GAA volunteer in rural Ireland.
Representatives of CLG Tuar Mhic Éadaigh will be presented with the award at The Mayo News/O’Neills Club Stars banquet (which is being held in association with AIB) in Knockranny House Hotel, Westport on Friday, January 19.
All proceeds from this year’s Club Stars ceremony are being donated to Enable Ireland, Mayo services. Tickets are currently on sale from The Mayo News office on (098) 25311.

MEANWHILE, Andy Moran’s historic achievement in being named‘Footballer of the Year’ will also be recognised at this year’s Club Stars awards.
The Ballaghaderreen forward will be presented with the ‘Personality of the Year’ award to acknowledge a season where he was voted the best player in the country by his peers.
The 34 year-old also won his second All Star award in 2017 after a brilliant summer.
“Andy was the star of the show for Mayo this summer and his performances in the big games in Croke Park were incredible,” said Club Stars judge John Casey. “So it’s only right that he is recognised here in Mayo too with a Club Stars award.”

Listen now to our podcast


Digital Edition