Fri, Jan
16 New Articles

Injury forced Moran’s substitution in All-Ireland Final


ARGY BARGY Mayo’s Andy Moran tussles with Dublin’s Jonny Cooper during the All-Ireland SFC Final. Pic: Sportsfile

Mike Finnerty

A HAMSTRING injury was the reason that Andy Moran was replaced in the 63rd minute of Mayo’s All-Ireland Final defeat to Dublin on Sunday week last.
The Mayo News has learned that Moran was injured earlier in the second half when a Dublin defender collided with the Mayo forward when they were contesting for the ball.
A heavy bang to the back of Moran’s knee meant his movement quickly became restricted and, despite attempting to play on for a number of minutes, the Ballaghaderreen clubman was eventually forced to come off.
Moran (33), who is the current odds-on favourite to win Footballer of the Year, sat out Ballagh’s Mayo Senior League match against Hollymount/Carramore last weekend as a consequence.
Meanwhile, another one of Mayo’s 12 All Star nominees, Colm Boyle, was also replaced during the second half of the All-Ireland Final due to an injury.
It has emerged that the Davitts defender sustained a dead leg when tackled by Dublin’s John Small midway through the second period.
Small was subsequently booked and sent off but Boyle was unable to continue past the 56th minute.
He did, however, line out for his club in the Mayo Senior League against Claremorris last weekend.
Elsewhere, Diarmuid O’Connor, who didn’t start the All-Ireland Final due to concerns about a hamstring injury, sat out Ballintubber’s Mayo Senior League game against Garrymore at the weekend.
The former Young Footballer of the Year was on crutches and is considered extremely doubtful for Ballintubber’s clash with Claremorris in the Mayo SFC next weekend.
Ballinrobe’s Donie Vaughan also missed his club’s league defeat to Ballina last weekend as he was suffering from the ‘flu.
The full list of Mayo players who have been nominated for All Star awards are: David Clarke, Brendan Harrison, Chris Barrett, Keith Higgins, Lee Keegan, Colm Boyle, Seamus O’Shea, Tom Parsons, Aidan O’Shea, Kevin McLoughlin, Andy Moran and Cillian O’Connor.
Moran and Clarke have also been nominated for Footballer of the Year, along with Dublin duo Stephen Cluxton and James McCarthy.
The All Star awards will take place on Friday, November 3 in Dublin.

Listen now to our podcast


Digital Edition