Wed, Nov
20 New Articles

Key appointments at Mayo County Council



PROMOTION John Condon (right) pictured receiving nomination forms from current Cllr Richard Finn in Mr Condon’s role as Returning Officer for the last local elections in Mayo. He has now been promoted to one of the two vacant director of services position in Mayo County Council. Pic: Michael Donnelly

Edwin McGreal

1411 catherine-mcconnell 300Two key appointments have been confirmed at Mayo County Council today (Friday).
Vacant director of services positions have been filled by Catherine McConnell (pictured right) and John Condon.
They will replace positions vacated by Joe Loftus and Paddy Mahon. Mr Loftus retired last May while Mr Mahon left to take up the role of Chief Executive of Longford County Council in 2016.
Ms McConnell and Mr Condon were appointed following the conclusion of a recent recruitment campaign carried out by the Public Appointment Service. They will take up their new posts next Monday.
Catherine McConnell is a native of Ballinrobe. She is a planner by profession and has worked in a number of local authorities including Mayo, Sligo, Meath and most recently Galway County Council where she has been acting Director of Services since 2014.
Mr Condon has been working in Mayo for many years, as an acting Director of Services since May and he was County Secretary for a time.
Originally from Tipperary, he worked in Dublin City Council, Kildare County Council, Athy Town Council and Castlebar Town Council before that.
In a statement, Mayo County Council outline the responsibilities each Director of Services will have.
Four of them will each have a responsibility for one of the four municipal districts in the county. John Condon will have responsibility for Castlebar; Tom Gilligan, Ballina; Joanne Grehan, Claremorris and Catherine McConnell, West Mayo.
Peter Duggan will have responsibility for Financial Management and Motor Tax.
In addition to managing Castlebar Municipal District, Mr Condon will oversee Water Services, Environment, Climate Change and Emergency Services.
Tom Gilligan will manage Housing, Roads and Services Development as well as Ballina Municipal District.
Joanne Grehan has responsibility for Communications, Information Systems and Corporate Development, together with management of Claremorris Municipal District.
In addition to management of the West Mayo Municipal District, Catherine McConnell will oversee the Planning, Economic and Community Development sections of the council.
The director of services positions are the level of management immediately below that of Chief Executive, Peter Hynes.

Digital Edition