Tue, Feb
0 New Articles

Mayo Person of the Year to be announced on Monday

Mayo Person of the Year to be announced on Monday

Anton McNulty

The announcements of the Mayo Person of the Year and Meitheal of the Year for 2013 will take place next Monday in the Mespil Bar of the Burlington Hotel in Dublin.
The annual awards dinner is one of the high points of the year for the Mayo Association of  Dublin and will take place in the Burlington Hotel on Saturday, February 2, 2013.
The Mayo Person of the Year award has been awarded to a host of well-known Mayo people over the years who have made an exceptional contribution to Mayo and its people. Last year’s winner was Enda Kenny and past winners of the Mayo Person of the Year include Louis Walsh, Pat Jennings, Joe Kennedy and Frank Harrington.
The Meitheal of the Year award is presented to a voluntary group organisation based in Mayo who, in the opinion of the adjudicators, has achieved great distinction or done most for the county, community and its people. Last year’s winners were the Landowners of The Greenway and past winners include The Bonniconlon Show Committee, Muintir a’Chorráin Teo and Hope House, Foxford.
The announcement of the winners will take place on January 14, 2013 at 6.15pm. Tickets are on sale for the awards dinner on February 2 at a special rate of €65 per person. A special overnight rate has also been negotiated with the Burlington Hotel when booking. For tickets contact: Pat Downes: secretary@mayoassociationdublin.com; Francis O’Malley: chairman@mayoassociationdublin.com; Susan Cosgrove: pro@mayoassociationdublin.com; Paul Sammin: treasurer@mayoassociationdublin.com; or any committee member directly.

HAVE YOUR SAY email antonmcnulty@mayonews.ie with your comments